Skip to content

In Praise of Emotions

February 1, 2012

 

At first, I want to call this post “In Praise of Emotional Women,” because there’s this negative stereotype going around about women being too emotional and whatnot, but I didn’t want to gender my statement, because everyone receives pressure when it comes to being too emotional, or sometimes not emotional enough.

Anyhow, I think we should all be allowed to have a public meltdown over the cuteness of sloths (or whatever else) if we damn well feel like.

I liked Kristen Bell in Veronica Mars, and then I didn’t like her so much in other stuff, and then I liked her again in House of Lies, but this video pretty much made me fall in love with her not the actress. She unabashedly embraces her emotions when other people would be embarrassed, I think that deserves to be applauded.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2012 7:35 pm

    I feel a little bad ’cause I comment on so many posts– am I monopolizing space? But anyway, I remember a terrible roommate situation involving a “bro” douchebag. He really upset me and I started to cry. He sort of reeled back and started in on a “Oh, don’t start THAT shit” sort of thing, and I came back with something like, “Don’t you DARE tell me not to cry!” That scared the shit out of him.

  2. February 1, 2012 7:45 pm

    Don’t feel bad for commenting! Comment on EVERYTHING multiple times if you want. You’re a blogger, you know we thrive on comments.

    Anyhow, yay for not being ashamed to cry or letting someone tell you not to go there!

    I don’t remember why, but there was a situation where I was at work and I just started crying and I said fuck it, I just sat at my desk letting the tears stream down my face and kept doing my work. The temp guy I was sharing an office with didn’t say a word, not to me anyhow, I bet he felt really uncomfortable.

  3. February 2, 2012 6:36 pm

    I love her too now!!! I´m so happy I like her now, I did´nt before.. 😀

  4. February 2, 2012 7:01 pm

    I know, right? I had never really seen her in interviews or anything, and her personality is not what I was expecting. She seems like a really lovely person. After watching this clip, I ended up watching YouTube videos of her on the Craig Ferguson show and she’s really funny and fun to watch.

Leave a Reply

