Skip to content

Menstrual Cup Folding Techniques

January 31, 2012

 

Menstrual cups can look kind of big, rigid, and a little intimidating, but once you get the hang of it they’re the best. thing. ever! Seriously, I don’t know how I lived before I got myself a Diva Cup.

There are a lot of different fold techniques for inserting menstrual cups. Personally, I use a combination of the first two methods shown in the video. The trick is having the menstrual cup sort of pop open once you’ve inserted it, so it forms proper suction and there is no leakage.

The cup shown in the video is a small Lunette and as you can see it has a pretty long steam; you can easily cut the steam to a length that is more comfortable for you. I found the steam on my Diva Cup super annoying, so I practically cut the whole thing off. It really serves no purpose… unless you like to use it to pull the cup out, but I find that inserting two fingers at the base and gently pulling works just fine.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    January 31, 2012 7:28 pm

    Who knew there were so many ways to fold a menstrual cup?! I always figured the first way was the only way. Maybe it was in a diagram with my first Keeper or something. It never really occurred to me to do it any other way.

    On a related note, does anyone know what the difference is between the Diva cup that’s for pre-childbirth/under-30 vs post-childbirth/over-30? Since I’m an over-30 lady, I have been pondering this for my next purchase, but I wonder if it’s just admitting your vagina is saggy…

  2. January 31, 2012 7:34 pm

    The menstrual cup community on the Internet is full of techniques and tips and tricks. It’s insane.

    Humm, I think the post-childbirth over 30 cup (model 2) is just slightly bigger… Let’s see what the site says:

    “The Model 1 cup is 1 11/16″ (~4.3 cm) in diameter and the Model 2 cup is 1 13/16″ (~4.6 cm) in diameter. Both cups are approximately 2 1/4″ (~5.7 cm) in length in the body of the cup, with another 3/8″ (~1 cm) stem (2 5/8″ total length). The stem may be trimmed to adjust for comfort.

    There is a small difference between the two sizes (Model 1 is 1/8″ (~0.3 cm) smaller), but it is important to use the recommended sizing to prevent leakage.

    We recommend Model 2 if you are 30 or over 30 years old, because as we age, our hips naturally widen and the vaginal muscles lose elasticity. Because the vaginal muscles hold The DivaCup in place, it is important to use Model 2 if you are over 30, even if you have not had childbirth.”

    I’m thirty, no kids, and I have model 1, which suits me just fine. I guess, as I age if I start sprouting leaks I’ll know that my aging vagina muscles have started to lose elasticity… and I might need model 2… or start doing Kegel exercises like mad.

Leave a Reply

