Skip to content

The Erotic Art of Namio Harukawa

November 29, 2011

Ever since I started this blog one of two things happen all the time: 1. friends send me pics of pulp cover art they have found and think I will like. 2. friends send me links to sex stories they think I’d like to cover, but sometimes, these fabulous friends of mine hit both marks in one fell swoop.

That’s why when one of the editors I work with sent me an email that said: ” This seemed very Olga to me: link I could only respond with the succinct message: “Good call.”

Japanese artist Namio Harukawa has a singular vision/obsession: women in charge. In virtually all of his paintings and drawings, women radiate the bemusement of the Mona Lisa while being sexually serviced by men who are little more than appendages to the women’s sexual organs. Astride the faces of these poor hapless males, the women are magnificent in their utterly cruel detachment.

Harukawa, who was born in 1947, has a style that evokes American pulp of the 1940s and 50s with more than just a little bit of Tom Of Finland thrown in.

In taking the phrases “giving head” and “sit on my face” quite literally, Harukawa has spun pussy power into the realms of the absurd and does it with skill and biting humor.

Pull up a face, have a seat, and take a look. (Source: Dangerous Minds)

I couldn’t have said it better myself. And you know I’m a sucker for pulp art. I should add though, that when it comes to art I like contradictions. I might like the idea of sitting one someone’s face without a care for their well-being, but when it comes to reality every time a guy has asked me to sit on his face, I become overly aware and concerned with the whole I-don’t-want-t0-smother-you-by-accident thing. As much as I’d like to sit on that face, let go and go buck wild, I can’t get the sexual faux-pas of accidentally smothering someone out of my head long enough to enjoy myself. Sigh.

Then again, I hear tale of people who don’t mind a little smothering action. So, with that in mind, these erotic art pics by Namio Harukawa are for you smother lovers out there and for everyone who has ever been too afraid, too awkward, or too self-conscious to completely let go during a sexual act they might otherwise really enjoy. Ah, if only we could all take charge of our own pleasure like these magnificent ladies.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Patrick permalink
    November 30, 2011 6:01 pm

    This post got me thinking about and looking at erotic art throughout history. In refreshing my memory most erotic art has been about women servicing men sexually in way or another. As mentioned Namio Harukawa puts the “women in charge”, which is a contradiction to most art, which is pretty cool :). In taking a look at erotic art, I could not easily find another artist who puts a woman in charge where it is all about her pleasure. Have we come to a point in history where we will see more art where men are servicing women?

    Letting go during a sexual act can be difficult to do as you have mentioned. Sometimes we just get caught up inside of our heads, which takes us out of the moment. I think that communication and being open about our desires might be the best way to overcome this. I’m still trying to figure it out myself. I would be curios to know what other peoples thoughts would be about getting over the fear and awkwardness.

    I really like the slideshow 🙂 Did you just embed it from somewhere or did you create it yourself?

  2. November 30, 2011 10:18 pm

    Olga

    Your fear of hurting someone is because you are not only tremendously sexy, you are also compassionate and caring.

    Have you ever worked out a safe word or safe gesture that he can use to tell you to stop? This might allow you to enjoy riding his face without fear.

    Just a suggestion.

    Take care.

    Bill

  3. December 1, 2011 12:59 pm

    @Patrick: Re: Slideshow: I uploaded the pictures from Namio Harukawa’s site and wordpress pretty much creates the slideshow for me.

    @Bill: Thanks Bill! That’s nice. Also you make a good suggestion. Of course communicating your awkwardness and fears to your partner is always a good place to start. Something that is usually easier to do when you’ve been with the same partner for a while, but I think it’s definitely good to get over yourself and just be open about the way you feel about something even if it’s the first time you’re with someone. I takes practice and a commitment to be open is all. Something I have to remind myself of.

  4. Steve B. permalink
    March 22, 2012 11:38 pm

    So glad to see Namio has another admirer. I think his work is some of the most visionary erotic art of the last century. An interesting twist might be seeing how many people sense a kind of erotic spirituality or tantric quality in his work.

    I’ve always thought that the female derriere & thighs had an incredible allure that was really beyond the sexual. There seemed to be a kind of eternal feminine spirit that’s indigenous to those irresistible curves. Beyond the obvious dominant/submissive theme in Namio’s art, I get more than a glimmer of a spiritual sensibility at work…and play.

    In my own relationships, it’s been rare to share a moment more ecstatic than the worship of a gf’s curvy rear & thighs. It’s intensely erotic & yet seems to transcend anything physical. Theres just nothing like kissing a big beautiful bottom and seeing that glorious and slightly wicked smile come across a woman’s face as she looks down at you.

    Olga…I do hope you find someone to adore your curves…and I hope you reach a point where you’re comfortable enough to let them be adored.

    Best of Luck & Namaste,

    Steve

  5. March 31, 2012 4:32 pm

    I hope so to, Steve.

  6. Cruella permalink
    April 11, 2012 12:04 am

    I found a new Website from a rare namio Harukawa rights owners, they even do artwork rendering and modification, they are very nice !! there is also Poster for sale and a book (namio book are pretty rare) coming soon !!
    http://www.VWproductions.net

Leave a Reply

