Skip to content

A 19th Century Map of a Woman Heart

November 21, 2011
tags: , , , ,


An interesting, albeit condescending, look at what men (at least one man, or woman, or whoever drew up this map) used to think of women. Besides the whole blah, blah, blah, patriarchy commentary that could be said about this particular map, I think it’s kind of a good idea. We should all draw maps of our own hearts. It could be a really interesting project. I would definitely love to see what a map of my heart would look like, and I could definitely spend hours inspecting the heart maps of people I care about/love and/or find interesting.

What would a map of your heart look like?

Found via Jezebel.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Patrick Patterson permalink
    November 21, 2011 6:32 pm

    I found it interesting to read some of the phrases and words on the map. Could ‘Love of Dress’ be updated to become ‘Love of Shopping’?

    When asked about a map of my heart, I first thought of mapping my brain because in my opinion the are linked together. After thinking about it for a moment in more detail a map of my heart would be about the things that are important to me. For example, my family an health would be in large bold letters because they are the two most important things to me. The other items that would appear would be things that I am passionate about such as running and learning new things.

    What would a map of your heart look like?

  2. November 22, 2011 11:45 am

    @Patrick: Love of dress could definitely be changed to love of shopping, but I think the dress-up part is more fun.

    It’s true, when I think of my “heart” to me it symbolizes my mind/soul/brain…that sort of ephemeral quality that isn’t easy to define.

    The people I love would definitely be part of my heart map. There would also be a lot of pain though, as well as all the things that make me happy. It would be interesting to draw it all out. One of my friends on facebook got inspired and painted her own heart map. Fun!

  3. Patrick permalink
    November 22, 2011 8:40 pm

    @Olga
    You make a great point about the heart being about the mind, soul, and brain. They are really connected to each other. I never considered pain being a part of my heart, but it would defiantly have to be there. In reading what you wrote got be thinking about friends and relatives who have passed away.

    I could see how the dress-up part could be more fun. In reading this phrase made me think about my background in theatre because that is what actors do. They get to dress-up and pretend that they are somebody else.

    That is pretty awesome that one of your friends was inspired to paint a map of her heart. I’m not sure if I could do it because I would want it to be perfect.

  4. November 25, 2011 10:03 am

    @Patrick: It’s funny you should mention theatre, because that’s what I studied at university.

Leave a Reply

