Skip to content

Educational Video: Dating Dos and Don’ts

September 18, 2011

Oh my, how things have changed…. or not.

What do you think, are there any dos and don’ts when it comes to dating?

I usually don’t follow any rules, which gets me in trouble, because I tend to be very direct. Maybe, I’d have more luck playing hard to get. Kidding, almost. I’d rather just be myself on a first date and if that doesn’t go ever well… Too bad. Which is easy to say right now, and not so much when I’m being rejected by someone I like, because I called too soon or some silly bullshit like that.

If I like you, I will tell you. That you can count on. Doesn’t mean, I want to get married or even be your girlfriend. It just means I like you.

Why do people have to read so much into what a person says. I guess, they’re not used to taking something for what it is. Too many people lie or play games. Life is too short for that.

Although, there ARE some games I like, but that’s a story for another time.

I hope you enjoyed the video and don’t forget to leave a comment telling me about what tends to get you into trouble when it comes to dating. Your dos and dont’s, as well as the kind of behavior you like or dislike coming from someone you’re on a date with.

I find telling someone you like them is much easier than turning them down. Strange, because when I was younger telling someone I liked them was the hardest thing in the world. It’s nice when things change for the better, even when it hurts because the person you like won’t say it back.

Love and learn, baby. Love and learn.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2011 10:48 pm

    Sweet. I like that. Dating should just not be such a mystery. Maybe we come into dating with the wrong expectation. It’s not about trying to find out if we like the other person as much as trying to figure out if we like how the other person works. This includes how the other person deals with revealing how their feel or what their expectations are. You might like the person, but it’s how you can work together in your dynamic that decides whether you can have a relationship with that person.

    So yeah, you should be yourself. And maybe I’m biased after reading your post because I have always admired people who are blunt and straight to the point.

  2. Cate permalink
    September 18, 2011 10:54 pm

    It has been a while since I dated (married now for ~15 years). When we opened up over a year ago (I thought) I was dating someone, but it turned out bi-curious women see things differently. Some girlfriends of mine told me to skip the bi-curious stepping stone and go straight for either an experienced bi or lesbian. That isn’t so easy, not where I’m living.

    I definitely am like you—being straight forward is more important as life is seriously too short for games. I am not one to play along with the emotional tag some people are in to.

    Having said that though, I am shy, so I tend to be more quiet at first. Once I am comfortable with the person, I open up much more. And that, I hope, isn’t misconstrued as a game.

    P.S. We are definitely getting spoiled out here what with you posting so much in the past week 🙂

  3. September 18, 2011 10:56 pm

    @Fruit Taster: You’re right though, I think in an human interaction you have to gage how the other person likes to express themselves, or at what speed they are willing to go. If you’re yourself and are comfortable to act withing each other’s boundaries that you’ve got a good basis for starting a relationship…or friendship.

    My cousin’s wife, whom I only met once at my uncle’s funeral, was telling my aunt about this book she read. I forget the make, but the basis of the book was about how different people express love in different ways. Some people do it verbally, some physically, some give gifts, etc. You might be in a relationship with someone who is constantly telling you they love you simply by the way they hold your hand, but if you’re a verbal love kind of person you might not get that at all. So in a relationship it’s important to let your partner know how you express love and how you would like love expressed to. Sort of an understanding and compromise….

    Anyhow, I got a little off topic there for a second, but that idea always stuck with me. That’s in a relationship it’s important to understand that your partner might not express his or her feelings in the same way as you do.

  4. September 18, 2011 11:02 pm

    @Cate: Thanks, I took a long break over the winter….I was dealing with some stuff…still am, but I feel better, and got the writing bug again. It’s especially fulfilling when I get feed back from readers. Otherwise, it starts to feel like you’re just talking to yourself. lol.

    Also, one of the reasons, I hadn’t been posting as much is that I was getting into the swing of doing some paid writing work for other blogs. Since both the other blog I work for are sex related, I was just writing/seeing too much of it. But I like this site, because I can be more personal.

    Hopefully, this new Cuntlove writing phase will stick… I just have to take the pressure off myself about writing something “good”, you know? And just do it.

    P.S. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Kitty permalink
    September 19, 2011 2:51 am

    I like to be straight forward. Some people (I’ve dated) are terrified by it and back off. Some people like it. When I first started dating my fiance’ he played games and I did a bit too. Silly, silly. I hate games. I think people should be upfront and honest.

  6. October 24, 2011 9:30 pm

    I still can’t believe Woody doesn’t even kiss that girl at the end. I mean, he doesn’t have to go for the tongue or anything, but not even a cheek graze? C’mon, man, step it up a notch!

  7. October 24, 2011 9:35 pm

    @Laura: Woody needs a woman who knows how to take the reigns…maybe corrupt him a little.

Leave a Reply

