Skip to content

Period Panties for Everyone

September 16, 2011

Gala Darling’s Guide to Making Your Period Suck Less

Gala Darling, famous blogger and radical self-love guru, posted an article the other day (err week) about how to make your period suck less.

It’s pretty alright, check it out here.

One of her suggestions was to swap out your old dirty ass period panties for cute and comfortable ones. It’s not bad idea. I know I have some underwear just begging to be thrown out.

Gala included a link to period panties from Hairbrained.

You all know I’m not down with negative stereotypes about menstruating, but I’m also a fan of cheeky contradictions. Just look at my love of pulp fiction art. These panties are pretty cute, especially if you like to advertise the fact that you are bleeding from your vagina. Haha!

There are four hilarious pairs of panties for you to pick from. Just about enough to cover your entire period (depending on how many days your flow lasts).

The Panties

Aunt Flo: dropped in for her monthly visit. She’s gonna crash on the couch for 5 days and complain about her aches and pains nonstop.

Evil Beaver: Most of the time beavers are gentle peaceful creatures. But once every full moon they snap and when they do, no wood is safe.

Raggedy Fran: The lesser known cousin of Raggedy Ann & Andy… Raggedy Fran resents her cousins for hogging the spotlight. She’ll sew her name anywhere to get some recognition.

Rainbo…first blood: Rainbo was a lot like other unicorns, until the draft that is. Now she has terrible flashbacks and goes on a rampage about once a month. Why does that horn have to be so sharp?

As an extra bonus, the panties are made of 95% fine cotton and 5% elastic. Also, the prints are made with environmentally friendly water-based inks. It’s good to be nice to your pussy.

Alternative Menstrual Products

Speaking of being nice to your pussy, you might want to consider alternatives to bleached tampons and scented pads.

Menstrual cups: There are many different type of menstrual cups out there: the Diva Cup, the Keeper, the Mooncup, etc., and they are AMAZING. To be fair, I’ve only tried the Diva Cup, but I’m sure the other ones are just as good. It all depends on your flow needs and the size of your vagina.

The best thing about menstrual cups is that there is no fear of toxic shock syndrome, which was always something on my mind when I used to wear tampons.

Also, I swear to God, you don’t feel them at all. When I’m wearing my Diva Cup it’s like I’m not having my period at all. Once you get used to inserting and removing it, you’re golden. I seriously forget I have to empty it out once in a while, and by once in a while I mean I can go 12 hours (up to 24 hours) without having to take it out.And once you learn how to properly insert it you never have to worry about leakage.

They are wonderful, I really can’t say enough good things about my Diva Cup I’ve saved a bundle on pads and tampons and it’s eco-friendly.

If you’re thinking about trying one out, contact me if you have any questions or concerns, I’d be happy to help you out.

Sea Sponges: Sea Sponges are an alternative to good ol’ regular tampons. I’ve never tried them, but from what I hear benefits include no toxic shock syndrome, and you can have sex when you have a sea sponge inside your vagina, because you wear it up close to your cervix. They’re also eco-friendly since they are re-usable and are a natural resource.

Re-usable pads: Re-usable pads are made out of cotton and are, well, re-usable. They’re a great alternative to pads if your concerned about the chemicals used on regular pads, and like the other products on this list they are good for the environment and your wallet. They’re not my first choice, because washing them seems like a pain in the ass, but if you don’t like inserting menstrual products in your vagina they are a good alternative to menstrual cups and sea sponges.

If your attached to tampons and pads, it might be a good idea to go for all-natural, unscented, unbleached, and undyed products as often as possible. Check out what’s available at your local drugstore, although you may have more luck checking out your local natural food store. They usually carry the best alternative menstrual products.

Don’t forget to check out the slideshow to see the panties:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2011 9:44 pm

    Ha! Those are awesome panties.

    ++ on the Divacup too, I’ve forgotten and had sex with it in and it wasn’t really a problem. Took a little effort to get the silly thing *down* afterwards tho. >.>

    When I bought a new one I gave the old to my mother the school nurse in hopes of giving highschool girls some idea of the options aside from tampons cause lordy… those things were not kind to my vagina.

  2. September 16, 2011 9:53 pm

    Ya, haha, pretty awesome panties. I wish I had all the money in the world. Sigh.

    I really love my Diva Cup, but I’d love to try the other options I mentioned. Hint, hint to any one wanting to send me some merch for review.

    That’s cool about your mom, I wish more school nurse were aware of all the alternative menstrual products out there.

  3. Cate permalink
    September 16, 2011 11:09 pm

    I purchased a Diva Cup and sadly it just doesn’t seem to work. Maybe I didn’t get the right size (#2)? I tried it for a few periods but just didn’t feel right with it. And that was disappointing. Afterwards, I went with the Luna Pads. In the end, I’ll just say that my doctor actually told me to stop using them.

    Maybe you are the gal to talk with regarding my DC issues…

  4. September 16, 2011 11:31 pm

    I’m curious, why did you doc tell you to stop using the luna pads? If it’s too personal use my contact form to email me…we can also discuss at length your experience with the Diva Cup….It might not be for everyone, but talking about it can’t hurt.

  5. Kitty permalink
    September 17, 2011 11:31 pm

    Those panties are neat. Subtle clue to the bf! I feel kinda awkward saying that I don’t want to have sex because I’m bleeding, but now I can wear panties to tell him that instead. I feel a little silly for saying that 😛

  6. September 17, 2011 11:42 pm

    Subtle clue indeed.

    Nothing to feel silly about.

    Personally, I don’t mind having sex when I’m on my period. Although, it does kind of limit the foreplay possibilities.

  7. September 22, 2011 8:35 pm

    Those are really cute. I have heard a lot about the diva cup lately. However, I am just too chicken to try it out.

  8. September 22, 2011 9:09 pm

    Sabrina, they sell re-usable cups at the drugstore called Insteads. They are not as good as the Diva Cup, but might be good training wheels before you take the plunge.

Leave a Reply

