Skip to content

Reddit Discussion About My Bloody Diva Cup

May 28, 2011

Hey there folks, remember when I blogged about My Bloody Diva Cup and posted pictures of it? Well, I just found an interesting conversation about it on Reddit. The discussion titled The bloody diva cup…art? *WARNING* ….I puked in my mouth a little…. is chalk-full of interesting comments. Let’s just say I had a good time reading them all. It’s pretty safe to say the original poster was a little grossed out by my public display of menstrual blood. More specifically that I touched it.

Here are some golden excerpts:

RosieLalala: Welcome to the wonderful world of menstrual/blood activism! 🙂 Seriously, it is a wonderful world. It has led to better products on the market. It has led to better medical awareness and treatments for difficulties with the whole internal reproductive system. Totally worth some people getting a little squeamish for, imho.

Razelnut (original poster): Hey, once again I say I am all for the cup and having options, and I AM HAPPY to have my period every month! I really love it….but not -that- much I guess. How has touching your period blood, maybe making art of it and taking a picture of it “led to better medical awareness and treatments for difficulties with the whole internal reproductive system” please, enlighten me.

For the recorded I never claimed to be making art, although there’s one or two pics that appealed to me in that way.

RosieLalala: It’s more that menstrual/blood activism has lead to our being able to talk about it in society.There was a time in many people’s memory where you couldn’t even mention “the monthly curse” unless behind closed doors and with a very select audience. Tampons didn’t exist in that time. Neither did pads like we’ve got now (although they did have those awkward belted ones that were horribly uncomfortable from what I hear). It may not be your cup of tea to use a tampon, but it took decades just to get the option to learn how to use one. As for medical advances – PMS was not allowed to exist. It could not be discussed save for “women’s weakness” (which may or may not actually have been related to her menstruating at the time). This was a time when any physical issue tangentially related to our ‘special anatomy’ resulted in a hysterectomy.

Way to have my back RosieLalala.

InnerTaunTaun: I think maybe some are trying to break down taboos that will lead to further acceptance of women and all that they are both physically, mentally and emotionally.

RosieLalala: I think that it’s more a “why be squeamish?” We are all grossed out by different things. Some people like scat-play. Some people like blood. Some people are grossed out by eyes, or mucous.

Right on!

Razelnut: For me it’s not the cup, it’s the touching of the blood AND taking pictures of touching the blood. I see how the pictures could be helpful for someone wondering about what the cup is like – but did she HAVE to touch the blood?

I guess I didn’t HAVE to touch it, but I wanted to show the texture of menstrual blood, or my menstrual blood anyhow, since I’m sure texture can be different from woman to woman, and also depending on which day of your cycle you’re on.

Blowbubbles: Even tho I knew it was gross, I couldn’t stop looking. It’s like a freakin train wreck!

I love train wrecks! Metaphorically speaking of course. I don’t actually enjoy the death of hundreds.

Razelnut: I “get” why women might want to use those things…good for the environment, yadda yadda yadda BUT to do that…..and this comment just added to the gross ” take note of how clean the cup is on the outside, and keep in mind that I masturbated while wearing it” Whaaaa?

Haha, too much information for some people I guess. I didn’t even remember writing this, I had to go back and double-check. I mentioned the cleanliness of the outside of the cup, because a lot of people don’t want to try products like the Diva Cup, the Keeper, Mooncup, etc, because they’re squeamish about the messiness. I wanted to show that it was really clean and that there was no reason to be squeamish about it.

Freezingkiss: That is horrible, god and she masturbated while wearing it. THANKS. That’s not art. I know ‘art is subjective’ blah blah. That’s not art. Ewww!

Capoteismygod: I’m not sure why masturbating while wearing it is a big deal

Razelnut: It’s not but mentioning it, then playing with the blood….that’s gross.

I don’t understand how doing something isn’t gross, but talking about it is.

NoahTheDuke: Also, who said anything about specialness because of exclusivity? Who made you final arbiter on matters concerning rightness and wrongness of actions? Where is your perspective coming from? Why does this matter so much to you, to prove that her natural bodily functions are gross and wrong to investigate?

I like that last line by NoahTheDuke, because all of this really is just an investigation. Like I’ve said before, I don’t care whether people are grossed out by blood, or whatever other bodily function, but you should ask yourself why you’re grossed out by it. The answer to those questions are important. Are you grossed out by menstrual blood, because of years and years of  conditioning? I mean, it’s no secret that women and their monthly cycle has been villainized for thousands of years. Ask yourself where your reactions, thoughts, and emotions come from? Would you be as grossed out by a drop of blood in the bathroom that you knew came from a paper cut on your roommates finger rather than your roommates cunt? I think you know what I’m getting at here… Just remember to investigate your own reactions, you’ll probably find that a lot of your judgements come from strange places.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Erika permalink
    May 29, 2011 2:46 am

    *love* this post, amazing in so many ways.

  2. May 29, 2011 2:51 am

  3. Janvanize permalink
    May 29, 2011 8:00 pm

    Interesting Olga, I also went back and read the first article and honestly, I had never till now heard of using the cup things as a sanitary measure. I had heard of the ones that you could wear for a couple of hours only like the spongers; like for the sole purpose of having clean sex during a heavy period. So thanks for that.
    As for the comments, first off I think you displayed it in a tasteful way with your use of the sink full of water. I feel it is important that it’s known that menstrual blood is not the same as vein blood. It’s important for many reasons, which I could name a bunch, but the main one that comes to mind is that, I used to have a sex partner to whom the sight of blood made him queasy. I was never able to make him understand that it wasn’t the same as having a painful cut and that there was no need to be squeamish. I was hoping to reduce his phobia through education and for the most part he understood how the blood was produced in laymen’s terms, but he still had that unease The picture would have very useful at that time.

  4. June 15, 2011 10:44 pm

    I only just saw this post, you are awesome.

  5. June 16, 2011 10:28 pm

    Thanks!

    And Thanks for Tumbling it!

  6. JJS permalink
    November 3, 2011 11:04 am

    I once had an uh-oh moment with a diva cup or similar….not cool. However now I use re-usable, handmade pads that button around my underwear. They are easier to use and less accident-prone than disposable pads and I get the fun of washing them out. It’s good to interact a bit with your period and know that you don’t have to produce lots of plastic waste or spend money each month!

  7. November 3, 2011 7:43 pm

    I agree that it’s good to have that experience of “interacting” with your period. I think you become when more comfortable with your body in the process.

    If it’s not too personal a question, what happened with your Diva Cup? And is that why you decided to go with re-usable pads?

  8. JJS permalink
    November 3, 2011 10:24 pm

    Come to think of it, I think it was “Instead”….this was a long time ago. The cup seemed to be working fine, but at some point it shifted out of position and a bunch of blood spilled out at once…stainage and instant problem. At least if a pad or tampon is leaking, you don’t suddenly “spring a leak”, lol.
    I got a set of 3 pads for $20 from the girl who had sewn them at a country fair. I was volunteering on an organic farm and non-biodegradable trash didn’t fit with the whole scene.
    I really like my cotton pads. They’re cute. They never move around or get folded over, and they’ve never leaked through. They do require vigorous washing in hot water, but I find it pretty zen. I use natural tea-tree soap to get a little extra antibacterial power.

  9. November 9, 2011 5:05 pm

    Ya, Insteads aren’t as good as the Diva Cup.

    I’ll have to try re-usable pads one of these days, but I’m pretty attached to the cup.

    It’s just got to know there are different options out there.

Leave a Reply

