Skip to content

Turning Thirty!

May 26, 2011

 Not bad for a thrity year old, huh?

I turned thirty a couple of weeks ago. It was rather underwhelming, but at the same time it’s making me worry a little about wrinkles and gray hair. Just a little. More and more kids in their late teens and early twenties are calling Ma’am, which is strange, because part of me still feels like a fifteen year old, but then I remember that was half a life time ago. Growing up is such a strange process, or rather how memories about it. I don’t think I ever imagined what my life would be like at thirty when I was just a teenager. I couldn’t see past what my twenties would be like, but now they’re over, and they looked nothing like I imagined.

Certainly, my life doesn’t look like what it’s supposed to look like at my age (whatever that means). I’m not married, I don’t have kids, I haven’t travelled the world, but I’ve done many other things. Events that ten years ago, I thought would never leave the forefront of my mind and distant memories. I suppose the same thing will be true of the events that permeate my mind today. Time will change the resonance and meaning of it all.

I think, I never believed I would live this long. Strange thing to say, since although we’re all conscious of our mortality it always comes as a surprise when someone dies. My Dad was always convinced he would never live long, probably has something to so with his father dying when my Dad was only thirteen. I was also quite the rebel teenager, I never thought I would reach thirty, and in a lot of ways that might have been true if I hadn’t made some changes in my lifestyle. Mostly booze and drugs, but even sober I never made the best choices. Let’s just say I put myself in a lot of dangerous situations.

If I had a girl who did half the shit I did, I would have a heart attack. More than one probably. Truth is I put my parents through a lot of shit. It must not have been easy to be my Mom and Dad, but then again they didn’t always make it easy to be their daughter. Not to imply that they were bad parents, because I know they love me, and I know they made a lot of sacrifices to take care of me, but were all human and none of us are perfect. Pretty obvious, right?

When my parents split up, they weren’t that much older than I am, and I remember constantly telling my Dad and his girlfriend that they were old. It was a little joke at home. A six-year-old telling them they were old… I can’t believe they were almost the same age as I am now. I don’t feel as “adult” as they were at the time. Crazy. I suppose they felt the same way when I was telling them how old they were.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Patrick permalink
    May 29, 2011 9:21 pm

    Happy Belated Birthday! My 30th birthday was also like you stated “It was rather underwhelming”. It was just another birthday. I hope that your next 30 years are better than your first 30.

  2. May 29, 2011 9:23 pm

    Thanks! I hope so too!

  3. June 28, 2011 9:50 am

    Olga I haven’t been around for a while. Happy belated birthday! You look great!

    I have just finished writing my first novel I will send you the links when it is up.

    Keep on keeping on

    xxQRG

  4. June 29, 2011 11:47 am

    Thanks QRG, check out some of my latest posts. There are some good ones in there. xoxo

  5. July 6, 2011 3:50 pm

    You look stunning, certainly not 30! In fact, I deal with teenage mums who look a lot less fresh & pretty. So take it as a compliment from someone who knows, you are lovely.

  6. July 6, 2011 3:53 pm

    Thanks! Compliments always make me feel good. Maybe, I should start complimenting people more often…

  7. P.K. permalink
    September 2, 2011 12:55 am

    Enjoy your life, Olga. I learnt that after my Mom passed away some years ago ( My Dad many years ago), life is but a journey, and we only have one of it, so just take things as they come along. I dont mean we should be careless in things like money, health etc, but keep the big picture, and enjoy every minute of it!

    best

    P.K.

Leave a Reply

