Skip to content

New Dove Commercial Pisses Me Off

May 19, 2011

I have a dvr at home, so I record most of the movies or tv shows I want to see and just skip through the commercials, but sometimes (most times) I’m double tasking while I watch TV: I might be knitting, sketching something, or blogging (watching Law & Order: Criminal Intent right now actually). Anyhow, I’m not always on top of skipping the commercials, so I absent mindedly watch a couple. The latest Dove commercial caught my eye.

It’s their typical new special about self-esteem and finding yourself beautiful, etc. Try as I might to find the damn thing on youtube I was unsuccessful (but if you want to entertain yourself for a little while go to youtube and search for vintage Dove and Ivory commercials..pure gold I tell ya), but the thing that really annoyed me about the commercial in the first place is that after a parade of “regular” beautiful woman telling us what beauty is or how they feel beautiful the commercial caps it off with copy that says something along the lines of “Beauty/Self-esteem….all you need is Dove”.

I appreciate the message they are trying to get across with their true beauty campaign, but to say something like “all you need is Dove” to feel good about yourself really trivializes the issue of body image and self-esteem. Battling with life long body issue? Don’t worry, just buy a bar of Dove soap and you’ll feel super. I call BULLSHIT. That is all.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Wayne permalink
    May 20, 2011 8:01 am

    Yeah, it’s a mixed message for sure, and definitely profit/brand driven. I liken it to the Outlaw Biker culture where the ideal or mindset is to be non-conformist, yet by becoming part of the culture you conform to the expectations and norms of that particular culture. Granted, in this case they’re trying to convey the message that societal definitions of Beauty are not what makes a woman beautiful, but they obviously have a financial stake in also conveying the message that their product will help you attain that elusive freedom from living up to other people’s expectations.

  2. May 20, 2011 8:37 am

    Well said, my feelings exactly!

Leave a Reply

