Skip to content

On The Death Of Osama Bin Laden: The Destructive Power of Hate

May 2, 2011

Everyone is all a twitter about the death of Osama Bin Laden. If you take a peak at any social networking site, you’ll notice comments that range from “Yippy, he’s dead” to “I feel kind of bad for the dude”, and everyone in between attacking each other with their opinions.

Personally, I’ve stayed far away from anything involving the aftermath of 9/11. That might make me an irresponsible citizen, but I couldn’t get involved for fear of losing my sanity. Give me another decade and I might be ready to read a book about the goings on regarding the shitstorm that hit the world after those planes hit their target.

His death neither makes me sad or happy. I do however feel compassion for the man… Don’t mistake compassion for approval, I don’t particularly like the guy nor do I support his actions, but you have to feel something for a person (and many others on both sides of these wars) who is consumed by hate.

Have you ever felt profound anger towards someone? Have you ever felt hate permeate every fiber of your being? If you have, and I’m sure everyone has had occasion to feel something like anger, hate, jealousy, and resentment, you know how painful those feelings can be. They take up all your thoughts, tense up your body and make it impossible to breathe and relax. Negative feelings, unlike positive ones like love and compassion, seem to have the special ability to dig their claws in your being and never letting go. Imagine living like that all the time?

Osama Bin Laden was a man consumed by hate, and he was also one of the most hated men in all of the US. All these people holding on to all this hate… So horrible, so difficult. I don’t wish that on anyone. I think it’s sad when you can find joy in the death of someone, whoever they may be. It doesn’t solve anything, it doesn’t change anything. The death of Osama Bin Laden is not some magical solution that all of a sudden makes everything alright.

If anything, if wish people would take three breaths, pause, and think about this. Try to imagine and feel all this hate inside of you, what it means, how it resonates, all the pain it creates, and maybe you’ll be able to muster up a little compassion for all the people in the world (including you and me) who are stuck in this cycle of hate and anger. I don’t want to stay stuck. How about you?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kitty permalink
    May 3, 2011 3:30 am

    Good post. I don’t actually feel anything at all regarding his death. I don’t really want to talk about 9/11. Maybe becaue I live in NZ? Bad shit happens everywhere and we worried abou everything that went on in the world we wouldn’t have time to be happpy. I don’t know.

  2. Jake permalink
    May 6, 2011 10:56 am

    I really do sincerely doubt he was all that consumed by hate. He’s a savvy political motivator attempting to win political power through relatively alternative means. Characterizing him as being full of hate is part of the narrative supported by his enemies in order to explain his behavior in a way that properly vilifies him. The reasons this rich Saudi had for starting his Jihad have long been forgotten in the epic saga of good and compassionate versus evil and hateful.

    I’d love to see a commentary on globalism and Osama.

  3. May 6, 2011 2:56 pm

    I totally agree with you to a certain point, and I suppose it was a little presumptuous of me to extrapolate on one man’s feelings… a man that I don’t know… but no matter my choice of example, I stand by what I said. My post was more about hate than Osama.

  4. Iansean permalink
    May 6, 2011 5:08 pm

    I don’t think it’s stretch in the least to call the in leader of a violent political or religious extremist group as being at the very least drivin by hate. Especially since violent extremist thrive on calling for the destruction of thier enemies, real or imagined.
    He’s a savvy political motivator attempting to win political power through relatively alternative means.

    As opposed to what? An actual political leader who wins power over a nation through “conventional” means? Like Adolf Hitler? I hardly think many would deny that he was driven by hate.

    Still, I agree that hating those who opposed you’re life and livelihood can defeat make you’re life better even if those hating people do exist. Same can be stop without violence and some can’t, but defeating haters will not end hate. Only a better mind can do that.

  5. May 6, 2011 6:59 pm

    Thanks.

    The point is that we all need too think about compassion, kindness and love…no matter how cheesy and cliche that may sound.

  6. June 7, 2011 5:47 pm

    Olga the sad thing is that something so true has to be defended because it is perceived as cheesy and cliche.

  7. June 7, 2011 9:45 pm

    So true.

Leave a Reply

