Skip to content

Adventures in Menstruating

April 5, 2011

I got this great little zine from Microcosm Publishing (my new favoutite place on earth). I’ve only read one issue (issue number 5 as seen on the left) and I gotta tell ya, it’s pretty darn good.

I loooove the cover shot. The overall layout is super sleak and easy to read (some zines hurt my eyes the print is so small and cluttered).

Above all, the subject matter is king. There’s a great article about Activia (the yogourt) and how it’s marketed to women… and their hum..cycles.

I’ve had some really interesting conversations with people who menstruate over the years and it is really fascinating to me how so many people experience menstruating differently. Stories about the first time you got your period are almost as popular as stories about the first time you’ve had sex. I think people like to share stories about experiences that somehow speak to the people they have become.

I’ve written about my Diva Cup before and just recently that post got a lot of attention (someone linked to it on reddit or something like that)… Anyhow, someone commented on it and said “I think I just puked in my mouth a little”. Part of me is always a little tempted to be judgemental of people who think menstruating is gross, because it is such a natural part of our reproduction system. But I get grossed out by excessive amounts of drool or spit, so who am I to go all “natural woman” on your ass.

I do however think that it’s important to realize that a lot of the negative perceptions regarding menstruating were ingrained into her brains by marketing ploys set-up to… I don’t know… keep us in our place (?). Whatever, as long as your not being ignorant or oppressive you can go right ahead and think blood is gross. I give you permission (joking, almost).

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathleen permalink
    April 5, 2011 6:35 pm

    Oh, I love menstruating.

    Many friends of mine complain that they hated their first period because it was painful. I’ve always had their jealousy because I almost never get menstrual cramps (not to brag or anything). My menarche was a big relief, and not just emotionally (finally a woman), but physically. I had felt heavy and bloaty before hand, and when I finally had it I was lighter than air. I was finally able to relax and laugh and enjoy myself.

    Plus, I’ve found out that I am much hornier and able to orgasm very easily when I am menstruating.

    I love my Diva Cup, and the sponge. Very resourceful (without using up too many resources) and no worry of TSS. Thank goodness!

    I don’t find it disgusting, nor the smell offensive. Actually, it just smells like a stronger version of what I smell like when I’m aroused. Wouldn’t that mean I should kind of like the smell a bit? At least the more instinctual part of me?

    But whatever, if someone else doesn’t like it. It doesn’t really bother me that other women don’t like their “periods”, I’m just glad that I like mine.

  2. April 7, 2011 11:49 am

    i think i just threw up a little about that person who said ‘i think i just threw up a little in my mouth.’ love you Cuntlove and your boundry pushing ways! xo
    The Covetist

  3. April 7, 2011 7:08 pm

    @The Covetist: Aww, thanks doll.

  4. April 7, 2011 7:15 pm

    @Kathleen: Ya, I love that there’s no worry about TSS. I love the Diva Cup and the like. So much better than mainstream menstrual products like tampons and pads. It feels so much better. I’d love to try more things like sea sponges, the keeper or mooncup, and reusable pads. I don’t have the money to experiement with them all though. Hear that people who sell this stuff, I could product test for you and post blog about it! lol.

  5. Jessie permalink
    April 8, 2011 8:32 am

    hi love.

    I just wanted to point out that menstruation has been viewed as dirty in many cultures for thousands of years. Unfortunately I’m not well versed enough to know why it started, something about patriarchy though, I just can’t remember the deets, but obviously, if women would have run things to begin with in those certain cultures, they wouldn’t ostracize themselves out of the village and force themselves to sit in a shitty living area for the duration of their “time” until they were “clean” again. I think that’s really interesting that it stretches across cultures and I do believe that our blood is such a graphic outward expression of our identities and our unique qualities that it is threatening…or I could see how in the long run it would be pushed aside. The unknown has always created some kind of fear. Anyway, BLAH…hehe

    I will always remember my first period. I’m lucky I had such a cool mumzy…I told her not to tell my dad, but I’m pretty sure it was on Easter when I was 13 years old, and I’m pretty sure we went out and had dinner to celebrate!!!

    xoxo (love your blog Olgie.)

  6. April 8, 2011 3:27 pm

    @Jessie: Thanks poo-bear.

Trackbacks

  1. Reddit Discussion About My Bloody Diva Cup « Cuntlove
  2. Adventures in Menstruating Issue #6 « Cuntlove

Leave a Reply

