Skip to content

Do Something You’re Afraid Of

March 3, 2011

I caught the movie Dare by Adam Salky on TV the other night, and I was pleasantly surprised. Because I’m lazy and I don’t feel like giving you a plot synopsis here’s a copy paste job from IMDB:

A drama centered around three high school seniors – an aspiring actress, her misfit best friend, and a loner – who become engaged in an intimate and complicated relationship.

To clear things up a little the aspiring actress decides she needs to experience life to hone her craft by seducing her co-star in acting class whose a popular loner dude. Her misfit best-friend is a gay geeky guy who also decided to seduce said loner. Initially, it’s easy to assume that the popular loner dude is the typical dickhead jock type, but he turns out to be the character with the most depth. He’s a lonely guy that craves authentic relationships, which he thinks he has found in the two misfits best friends.

The scene where he realizes these two “authentic” people are full of shit is heart wrenching.

I like how this film sort of flips the traditional high school drama stereotypes. The popular rich kid is the only one that sees through the bullshit of life and goes for want really matters.

Somewhere in all of that was a message: Do what you’re afraid of.

I used to be afraid to be emotionally vulnerable with people, especially men I was interested in. I got over that particular hurdle. Of course I got my heart crushed in the process, which, ya know, was what I was afraid of in the first place, but you know what, it was worth it. Sure it fucking sucked going through it, and it sucked for a long time, but the thing is, I would do it again. Not with the same person, but I would do it again. Expressing my feelings is getting easier and easier. Sure, I’m not always the warmest person around and I can be pretty closed off at times, especially with my parents, but my point is that the thing that scares you the most is usually precisely the thing you need to do.

You have to give to the world the thing that you want the most, in order to fix the broken parts inside you. – Eve Ensler

We tend to be afraid of the broken parts inside of ourselves. Giving that part of yourself to the world might be a good place to start.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

