Skip to content

The Sounds A Vagina Makes: Or What’s A Rumble in a Dark Velvet Room?

November 9, 2010
If you are in Montreal on November 18th you should absolutely go see this! Unfortnately, I won’t be and that is a sad, sad, sad fact, but if you’re in Montreal and you miss this you have no excuse.

If you’re not in Montreal, fear not, “the performance will also broadcast over the airwaves of CKUT 90.3FM or www.ckut.ca, reaching the ears of unsuspecting audience members in their cars, bedrooms, living rooms and bathtubs.”

I suggest getting comfy with your radio or your computer, turning the lights down low and immersing yourself into the auditory equivalent of a dark velvet room.

What You’re in For

Jessica MG from Audio Smut: “As part of the 3rd Magic Sound box come out and experience the REAL VAGINA MONOLOGUE. I will be presenting a piece I made by recording the sounds of my aroused vagina through a contact microphone. I think it will surprise and delight you.”

I also highly recommend you read this article to find out more about Jess and her piece. I mean, did I mention she recorded her arousedvagina? Seriously. Awesome.

Details on the Actual Event

Magic Sound Box: Live Radio Art Performance: storytelling–sound art–music–radio ether

***********************************
LOCATION: L’Envers, 185 Van Horne (just east of Parc Ave)
DATE: Thursday, November 18th
TIME: 7pm or 9pm SHARP!
COST: $7-12 Sliding Scale
***********************************

Amateur and veteran sound-makers will transform a large open venue. The plan: create an enclosed area with large swaths of fabric, turn off the lights…and make radio. The audience is inside the box, the performers are on the outside. Some of the sounds will be mixed through a quadrophonic speaker system and some will use the natural acoustics of the space, inviting our listeners to enjoy the spatial qualities of voices, instruments, field recordings and electronics.

This live radio transmission art show (or tell…) takes the audience inside Radioland – inside the magic sound box – highlighting the many talents of CKUT, exploring the limits of aural imagination and indulging in the intimacy of sound.

For this performance all you need is ears, we’ll turn out the lights, and twist and weave a variety of stories and sounds together.

More information:
culture@ckut.ca | 514 448 4041 x2593
magicsoundbox.blogspot.comwww.ckut.ca

More on Audio Smut: Sex Positive Radio

Audio Smut airs the first Wednesday of every month on CKUT 90,3 fm between 18h-19h.
Make sure to visit their website here and check out all of their archived shows. You can subscribe to their podcast, stream or download each hour long show. FYI, yours truly (you know… me) reads a little something on the show titled Jerking It.
7 Comments leave one →
  1. jessie permalink
    November 9, 2010 9:21 pm

    ya, I think I met this girl at work and she said she was going to perform at B-ville that week…I can’t imagine that there are many women doing the same thing.

    she wouldn’t go into a ton of detail, but as it turns out the night got canceled…we were all planning to attend of course. CRAZY…now I know where I can go to see her.

    really cool idea.

  2. November 9, 2010 9:54 pm

    Wowee! You are making me *blush* Thanks so much for the enthusiastic post. xxx Jess MG.
    If you ever want to contribute another piece…get in touch!

  3. November 9, 2010 11:56 pm

    @ Jessie: When worlds collide. Cool. You should totally go and then tell me all about it.

    @ Audio Smut: No problem! Glad my enthusiasm is making you blush.

    @ No one in particular: Radio used to incorporate elements of theatre a lot more in the days before television. I really like the theatrical possibilities involved in this live/venue broadcast and in having the audience “inside” the box. So awesome. The thought of it makes me all giddy. It reminds me of a play I saw… “Speak Easy” by the Montreal/Brooklyn theatre company “Sabooge”…

    Also, sound is often neglected when it comes to sex, which is a shame. And I like the idea of exploring the different facets of it.

    http://www.soundsexproject.blogspot.com/… I keep wanting to make myself those playlists… Such a great idea.

  4. November 10, 2010 11:49 am

    Wow, pretty delightful that! And a great idea to come up with. Off to check out those archived shows.

  5. November 10, 2010 1:12 pm

    Enjoy!

  6. November 12, 2010 4:33 pm

    Ooh….I don’t really think the farting sounds my vag makes when I climax would make very good listening!….

  7. November 12, 2010 10:25 pm

    You never know. They might.

Leave a Reply

