Skip to content

Fitting In vs Being Understood

October 26, 2010

Ever feel like you’ll never fit in?

I’ve always felt slightly removed from people in general and not because of things like gender, race or sexuality, but because of the way I think.

I felt slightly alienated today.

That is all.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2010 8:47 pm

    I completely feel you. Particularly because of my blog – I feel like at any moment, someone I know will stumble across it and start hating me because of my opinions and whatnot. Luckily, quite a number of people I know have stumbled across my blog and love me all the more for it, but the worry is still there.

  2. October 26, 2010 9:02 pm

    I was thinking about that today too. I mean, my identity on my blog isn’t “made up” or “hidden” and if anybody I work with ever decides to google me, I’m fucked. I stand behind my choice to be open and deal with whatever consequences come of it, but it’s a scary prospect sometimes, but to do otherwise would just reinforce the notion that everything I believe in is actually bad.

  3. October 27, 2010 2:48 am

    Ever feel like you’ll never fit in?

    Honey, I never feel like I’ll ever fit in. And I’m more than cool with that. I like who I am, where I am, who I’m with and fuck ’em if they don’t like it.

  4. October 27, 2010 11:51 am

    Amen.

  5. October 29, 2010 5:26 am

    yes but I like not fitting in. I think it has its downsides but many advantages. One of the advantages is getting to know some wonderfully unusual ‘misfits’…

  6. October 29, 2010 3:34 pm

    I’ve been reading your blog for a very long time, I love it! 🙂 Just wanted to say I feel this way all the time, but you’ve got to stick to what you believe in.

    All the best!

  7. October 30, 2010 2:18 pm

    @ Quiet Riot Girl: Thank God for misfits.

    @ Dazed Little Miss: I always wonder about the people who read my blog but that don’t comment. Nice to hear from you.

    On a general note, the whole not fitting in thing kind of momentarily depressed me because I had been around so-called educators that day and there seemed to be a lot of focus on trivial things like “instituting bathroom bans during class”, “forbidding gum” and “questioning the use of the laptop as a learning tool”… I could not relate to that kind of reasoning… Not that I want to… It depressed me that not more people thought like me. Ok, it sound arrogant said that way, but you all get the gist.

  8. Kathleen permalink
    March 18, 2011 7:34 pm

    Dude, being able to use the bathroom when you have to should be a basic human right or something. What are they going to do? “Hey, Mr. I need to go to the bathroom” “Sorry, I forbid it until 2:00”. “Let me refrase that. I’m going to the bathroom. Deal with it!”.

    I don’t think gum is perfectly sanitary, but what the hell kind of thing is that to make a rule about? It’s just gum!

    And I’ve learned more on the internet using my laptop that I ever did from stuck up, snobby proffesors.

    End.

  9. Kathleen permalink
    March 18, 2011 7:37 pm

    *than I ever did

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Fitting In vs Being Understood « Cuntlove -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

