Skip to content

Krakow Melt: What it Means to be Invisible

October 3, 2010

What does it mean to be an invisible member of society? If you’re the character Radek in Krakow Melt the latest novel by author Daniel Allen Cox, it means that your neighbor (a homophobic whack job) would rather have you fuck his wife than accept the fact that you’re gay. It means that you live in a world where adultery is a more favorable alternative to homosexuality.

What does being invisible mean to you?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 2:48 pm

    Being invisible to me, means being silenced, not heard. As soon as I become visible to certain groups and individuals (e.g. fundamentalist feminists and puritanical liberals!)they make sure that I am not allowed to hold the opinions I do, to occupy the space I do. Because I threaten them and their worldview.

  2. October 6, 2010 5:40 am

    I have just tried to make myself visible to Dan Savage in The Stranger. I find his sex advice very macho and sometimes even nasty about people. This latest column reminded me of you, as I read your lovely post about Three’s Company, and that threesome experience.

    http://slog.thestranger.com/slog/archives/2010/10/05/sl-letter-of-the-day-does-it-count

    There is a brilliant project called Hack Gender http://www.hackgender.org
    They are looking for submissions about sex this month. It would be great if you could submit something. The threesome post would be a brilliant one but I like your sex ed pieces too.

    You have to read a few of Savages columns to start to see why he is not very good as a sex agony uncle…

  3. October 9, 2010 3:42 pm

    @Quiet Riot Girl: Dude, I’ve had a busy week and I haven’t had time to respond to comments yet, but here goes. To be honest, I’m not that familiar with Dan Savage. I’ve heard his name here and there, but I was never intrigued enough to look any further. I did, however, read the column you linked too and via your comments and such I totally see why you are annoyed with him. Personally, I don’t find him that annoying. I would never take his advice per se, because it’s more funny in a dick-ish way (irreverent is the word I think) than actual good and sound advice from the heart.

    P.S. What’s an agony uncle? (I guess I could probably just google that and get an answer right away….which is what I’ll do any second now.
    P.P.S. Thanks for the Hack Gender link/recommend. I will check it out post haste.

Leave a Reply

