Skip to content

The Corona: Or That Piece of Flesh Formally Known as the Hymen

September 7, 2010

Did you know that there’s no such thing as the hymen? I was awe-struck when I found this out a couple of weeks ago. You see, I was checking out the search engine terms that people typed in to find Cuntlove and someone googled: “will a gyno exam break my hymen?” I thought, well there’s an interesting question and I googled it myself to find out what the Internet had to say about this. I stumbled upon an entry on Scarleteen that was mind-boggling. The hymen doesn’t exist. Never has. Never will.

I always thought I had broken my hymen on the bar of my bike when I was ten. Turns out, I just injured myself. There was no hymen popping involved. I wish I could go back in time and tell the older boy who asked the eleven year old me if anyone had popped my cherry yet that he didn’t make any sense, not because I didn’t know he was referring to my virginity, but because what he was asking was impossible to begin with. You dig?

(Shit, there’s a HUGE storm happening here right now!)

I always pictured the hymen as this porous membrane, about one or two inches inside the vagina, that let things out (like blood, etc), but wouldn’t let solid objects in without resulting in a tear of some sort. OMG! was I wrong. What is oft referred to as the hymen is actually the vaginal corona and it doesn’t disappear after falling on a your ten speed’s metal bar or after having sex for the first time, or two, or three. Hell, there’s still a vestige of the corona after you give birth. For a better understanding of what it is, where it is, and what it looks like check out the Scarleteen article I mentioned before.

So, the hymen is a figment of our collective imagination, now what? Well, for one, it means that it’s impossible to tell whether a person is still a virgin by checking on the state of their (nonexistent) hymen. It also means that the kind of vaginal reconstruction that involves rebuilding the hymen so that grooms to be will be satisfied with a little blood on their wedding night is completely messed up. Especially when you consider that not all virgins (with vaginas) bleed the first time they have intercourse, or the first time they insert a tampon, or a finger, or a vibrator.

Hymenorrhaphy (hymen re-construction surgery) comes in a variety pack for your pleasure:

  • A purely cosmetic procedure in which a membrane without blood supply is created, sometimes including a gelatine capsule of an artificial bloodlike substance. This operation is intended to be performed within a few days before an intended marriage.
  • Use of a flap of the vaginal lining, complete with its blood supply, to create a new hymen. Patients are advised to refrain from penetrative sex for up to three months following this procedure.
  • The term hymen reconstruction has also been used to describe some varieties of infibulation, requiring further surgery before penetration is possible. (Wikipedia)

Holy shit! Doesn’t it strike anyone else as odd that “the hymen myth” is so prevalent that there’s a surgery out there that will create one for you where none existed before just so you can spurt a little blood on your wedding bed sheets? The world is such a strange, strange place.

P.S. I was listening to the september/fall inspired songs my friend posted on her last blog post while writing this. Cuntlove would like to introduce to you The Covetist.

P.P.S. I haven’t had a cigarette in over a week and a half and let met tell you that sitting down on a rainy night, listening to melancholic music and writing has been a challenge. Someone pat me on the back for resisting one of my wants/vices.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2010 5:35 am

    Well, well! I’m speechless…. I too had no reason to doubt that the hymen was something that had to be broken. The derogatory term “broken in” was used by boys when I was young when referring to taking a girl’s virginity! To be frank, I always felt that the use of tampons would break any hymen, so how would a boy know if a girl was a virgin unless she told him?

  2. September 8, 2010 2:50 pm

    I know right, sooo shocking! On a side note, when I hit puberty I still thought that pee came out of your vagina, so I couldn’t understand how you could just wear a tampon while you were peeing. In my mind, it would immediately get soaked and need to be changed.

  3. jessie permalink
    September 9, 2010 7:08 am

    I do love The Covetist though…

    however, the Sad September Songs are here:

    http://thetruthcrisis.blogspot.com/

    I can’t believe I never had a Hymen btw. xo

  4. September 9, 2010 1:45 pm

    Yes, the official sad september songs are on http://thetruthcrisis.blogspot.com ….ah the confusion of having two friends blog about the same thing simultaneously. Anybody reading this should check out the truth crisis for a DAILY dose of sad september songs. The Covetist on the other hand is all about fashion/style/poetry/love, etc.

  5. jessie permalink
    September 9, 2010 11:38 pm

    I KNOW – who would have thought that your pee didn’t come from the same place…there was definitely a time in my life where that surprised the crap out of me…

    me: pee has it’s own hole?

    me: Really??? WHERE? How come I’ve never seen it??

  6. September 9, 2010 11:40 pm

    Haha, that about captures the moment perfectly.

Leave a Reply

