Skip to content

Weekly Roundup

August 29, 2010

I first came across the magazine $pread (a magazine for and by sex workers) while in a playwriting class at university. The chick sitting next to me had brought a copy in with her and although I really enjoyed that class I ended up borrowing it and reading the whole thing while I still had the chance. One of the stories in there went on to inspire the play I was working on. I’m sad that this magazine has come to the end of the road, but I’m glad there’s something in the works that will make the content of all of their past issues available to the public and that they will serve as a business model to others who would like to start a magazine of their own.

We all need to educate ourselves about words and the meanings they hold if only to stop ourselves from coming across as complete douches.

In no way related to the subjects of this blog, except maybe in a very small way, but as a recluse and a smoker this article amused the hell out of me and maybe it could do the same for you.

Interesting drawing by an interesting woman. Her comments on gender and art are something to think about. She’s also married to Robin Bougie, creator of Cinema Sewer, which you should also check out. Fair warning: it’s not for the faint of heart or the easily offended. Personally I love them both.

You have to read it to believe it.

Great story. It reminds me of my late teens.

Some choice quotes from this article:

“If you’re sex positive and you’re not making an active effort to include and celebrate all kinds of sexuality from all kinds of people? You’re a fucking liar. There it is. You’re a liar.”

And.

“So I say FUCK sex positivity. I want sex inclusivity.”

Ever wonder where asexuality and celibacy come in play in this whole sex-positive business of ours? This article doesn’t have all the answers, but it raises some good questions and a few good points along the way.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Devon Murphy permalink
    August 29, 2010 9:20 pm

    I was the chick sitting next to you in playwrighting! Thanks for the shout-out! I’m sad it’s dead, too. 😦

  2. August 29, 2010 9:43 pm

    Holy hell, YOU WERE the chick sitting next to me in playwriting. You’ve now become infamous to Cunlove fans around the world! Haha, wasn’t expecting to read this as a comment. Good times.

  3. September 2, 2010 8:35 pm

    Some great links, especially the sex positivity stuff as I tend to identify as sex positive and found that to be useful food for thought. Thanks!

  4. September 2, 2010 9:29 pm

    Ah yes, labels and words and everything in between. Seems like there’s always a slight problem when it comes to defining something.

Leave a Reply

