Skip to content

Darling Nikki by Prince & The Filthy Fifteen

August 26, 2010

Back in the mid-eighties when Al Gore’s wife, Tipper Gore, heard her daughter listening to Prince’s song Darling Nikki she became outraged at the subject matter and she subsequently created the group Parents Music Resource Center (PMRC). They created a list called the Filthy 15 and advocated for the censorship of “explicit” lyrics or the outright banning of these songs. Obviously, this got some musicians nice and riled up. Artists like Frank Zappa, John Denver and Dee Snider spoke up against censorship in music. Thank god, no laws were passed that restricted lyrics in music. It did however lead to whole parental advisory sticker we’re all familiar with, well I suppose you’d only be familiar with it if you actually buy music instead of just downloading it online. Anyhoo, when Wall Mart said they wouldn’t carry any cds that featured the parental advisory sticker a lot of musicians started releasing two versions of their albums: one that met the standards of Wall Mart and one that didn’t.

Fucking Wall Mart.

I took a peek at the famous filthy fifteen and it’s actually pretty tame. The only song on there that really does it for me is Darling Nikki. If you’ve never heard it (I suggest you do cause it’s awesome) it’s about masturbation and a girl named Nikki who likes to get it on. Damn Tipper Gore (what a name!), who knew Al Gore had such a prude for a wife.

If she was so intent on banning AC/DC’s Let Me Put My Love Into You, I wonder how she felt about Nina Simone’s I Want Some Sugar In My Bowl or Bessie Smith’s Empty Bed Blues? The again, who in their right mind would try to censor these two immortal ladies. Probably lots of people. Have you ever heard Simone’s Strange Fruit, Mississippi Goddamn or Pirate Jenny? I’m sure there were a lot of people in the South who didn’t exactly appreciate those songs. All music you should immediately download  by the way.

Down with censorship is my point here ladies and gentleman, but really, the reason I started writing this particular post is because I want to know…

What songs turn you on?

Tell me.

P.S. The picture is of Rage Against the Machine making, what I guess you could, huh, call a statement against the political group Parents Resource Music Center (PMRC) who advocated the censorship of what they deemed explicit lyrics in music.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. naturegirl1 permalink
    August 26, 2010 3:17 pm

    Gonna sound corny now, but I do find a track called Secret Garden on the Quincy Jones album Back on the Block with vocals by various artists including Barry White quite a turn on! Otherwise, the sexily titled Secretly Watching Me by HiFi Mike is pretty erotic!
    I’m showing my age with the Barry White track, but, hey…what can I say?

  2. August 26, 2010 3:20 pm

    Hey, Barry White will never go out of style. I’ll have to check those songs out. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

