Skip to content

This is my Life

July 29, 2010

This is my life, or fuck my life, depending on how you want to look at it. For the last month or so I’ve been working as a cashier sales clerk and whatnot at a store near home. I’ve been working four shifts a week from 5 to 11 at night for ten dollars an hour. For three out of those four shifts I’ve been showing up for work at 4:30, because I was asked to and I didn’t mind the extra five dollars in my pocket.

Today, the guy who has been asking me to come in half an hour early said that he didn’t want to pay me for the extra half hour anymore, but that I still had to show up at 4:30, because according to him everyone in the world is supposed to show up for work half an hour early just for the heck of it. I told him there was no way in hell I would work an extra half hour every day and not get paid. he stuck to his guns and I stuck to mine. I told him I would see him at 5 if that’s how he wanted it to go down. He told me not to come back if I left. An empty threat that I gladly took him up on.

I walked home, practically fuming the whole way there. Financially, this might not have been a good decision on my part, but there was no way I would stand for that kind of treatment. When I got home, I called the actual owner of the place and told him that I would no longer be working for him. When he asked why, I simply told him I no longer wanted to work with so and so. He didn’t ask for details, and thanked me for the heads up.

Fifteen minutes later, mister so and so whom I no longer want to work with called and asked me to give him back the key to the place. I told him I would mail it to him. He grunted in response and told me to bring it there now. I told him that I didn’t have a car and that there was no way I was walking all the way back there now. He grunted again and I gladly hung up the phone.

I didn’t want any trouble and frankly I don’t trust the guy as far as I can throw him, so I called a cab and when it got here, I told the cabbie I would pay for the fare back to the store if he would do me a favor and drop this key off to however was working. I’m hoping mister so and so was still there and had to pull a double shift tonight. Serves him right.

This my friends is what I would call an injustice. My mom thinks I overreacted and that I should go back and try to smooth things over to get my job back, which would probably be a good idea since I have about eighty dollars to my name at the moment. But this is definitely one of those situations where I’m not gonna back down even if I am the only who is ultimately going to suffer (financially) because of it. All hail taking a stand!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 5:59 pm

    All hail rebellion! I know that at places in the service industry you’re supposed to show up half an hour early to count your cash drawer and get set up and stuff, but you’re also allowed to clock in at that point, because you’re working. I mean, if a customer comes up to you and asks you for a croissant and you go, “Oh, sorry, I’m just counting my cash drawer and can’t help you. Plus I’m not clocked in yet, so go fuck yourself,” that doesn’t really go over well. But yeah, having to come in early but not get paid for it? I’m pretty sure that’s illegal. (Besides, if they don’t wanna pay you for the extra half hour, coming in 5 minutes early usually does it. It’s not like it takes half an hour to count a drawer of money.)

  2. July 29, 2010 6:10 pm

    Exactly. It’s one thing to ask your employee to come in early to set up and be ready to work when their shift starts (that’s just common sense), but that was not the case in this situation. Although, I’m sure that’s how the person in question viewed it. It was complete bullshit and not a job I absolutely needed or cared about. So I didn’t really feel obliged to shut up and take any shit. Right one, I say, to being in a position to not have to take it up the ass if you don’t feel like it.

  3. July 29, 2010 7:30 pm

    Stand up for yourself and fight for your right to get paid.

  4. July 29, 2010 9:02 pm

    That about sums it up.

  5. naturegirl1 permalink
    August 9, 2010 7:29 am

    The saying “pride comes before a fall” comes to mind, but sometimes we just have to make a stand, if only to maintain some self respect.
    No one has the right to tell you to work 30 minutes free of charge every day, here in the UK that would be grounds for taking the employer to an industrial tribunal.
    I start work 20 minutes before my due time because it suits me,

  6. August 9, 2010 8:30 am

    As long as it suits you.

    Ah yes, pride such a pesky little thing. My friend reminded me that I’m an adult and that adult have to shut up once and a while and make compromises.

Leave a Reply

