Skip to content

A Blogger’s Best Friend

July 22, 2010

Every blogger needs a computer. The bad news is that my computer is slowly dying and I’m afraid, so afraid. My laptop, my baby, my darling, the apple of my eye as had a bad run of it lately. I’ve had to replace the battery once too many. I dropped it and dented the area where you plug in the powercord. I’ve had that fixed and had to buy a new power cord, but it’s never worked properly since that fateful day. My applications are freezing more and more. It won’t restart. I need to hard reboot it for it to come back to life each and every time.

This is making me sad. I need my computer to write and I write everyday! Now, I’m looking into buying a new one, but I can not afford it. The computer I would like is the thirteen inch MacBook Pro, which starts at 1249.00 (Canadian).

My previous post asked whether I had any rich fans out there who would like to buy me one. I partially wrote that post in jest, but really, deep down in my heart, I would jump for joy if that ever happened. A friend of mine messaged me on Facebook telling me about a friend of hers who was telling her about how you can raise money online for projects in exchange for doing something crazy. Example: send me a dollar and I will cross such and such intersection buck naked.

There’s no way in hell that I’m doing that, but I am open to suggestions. What do you think I could do to raise money? More to the point, what would you give me a dollar for?

If you have any ideas or if you would like to donate some mullah, I set up a PayPal donation button at the bottom of my links on the right sidebar. Paypal is easy to use and through it you can donate cash from your bank account or any number of credit cards. Think about it, if all of my readers donated a dollar or two I could raise enough money to replace my dying computer. How awesome would that be? Pretty awesome indeed.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2010 10:05 pm

    I had another thought: maybe you could get Apple to sponsor your blog and send you a free compy? You could promise to mention them in every entry and link to them for life.

    Or, alternately, maybe you could get some sponsors for the blog to pay for advertising, which would then buy you a new laptop? I mean, it could take a while, but it could work.

  2. July 22, 2010 10:24 pm

    I’d have to get a domain and selfhost, because wordpress.com doesn’t let you advertise, but it’s a good idea. Something to put on my long to-do list that’s for sure.

    OMG, wouldn’t it be wonderful to have apple sponsor you. I would pee myself in excitement.

    How about you, Robert’s, I’m sure you have a dollar and some change lying around in your paypal account. I’ll send you a picture of my boobs. Promise.

  3. jessie permalink
    July 23, 2010 12:27 am

    tried to make a donation, but paypal kept asking me for a credit card…

    I really don’t have one!!! sucky-poo =(
    twas only a dollar, but twas a nice shiny new dollar, shiny with HOPE…lol.

  4. July 23, 2010 12:44 am

    Shiny hope dollars are the best!

    Ya, you need to connect paypal to your bank account or have a credit card. Sadly.

Leave a Reply

