Skip to content

Voulez-Vous Coucher Avec Moi?

July 6, 2010

The French have long had a reputation for having, shall I say, a dirty mind. Quebecers are especially known for their warm and friendly personalities. Case in point, while working a customer service phone job, the guy I was talking too asked me where I was from and when I told him I was from Montreal his response was: “I hear Montreal girls are a good time.”

Indeed we are. Indeed we are.

Although, that’s not exactly what I told the guy on the phone.

When looking for ways to pick-up, the sources are plenty. Finding a good pick-up line in the English language is no hard thing. They abound. Pick-up lines are funny and not to be taken seriously. Anyone who does risks going home alone each and every time. There is a slim margin of people who have the right combination of cockiness and self-deprecating swagger to get a smile in response to “Do you believe in love at first sight or should I walk by again?”

There is no French equivalent to this phenomenon. I scavenged the web and all I could find were translations of the all too familiar oldies but goodies. French is undoubtedly the language of romance and it is for that reason that it demands a fine touch. L’amorce, la phrase de drague is something that cannot be achieved with any old pick-up line. It demands finesse. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Janvanize permalink
    July 6, 2010 3:00 pm

    I love this post, very interesting that the language of love does not include pick up lines. Who would of thought! Just for this purpose i’m going to ask and find out if they exist in Spanish? I’m thinking they probably don’t. As far as I know, spanish pick up lines consist of compliements thus the finness and galantry of it all. In english, it’s about joking around …. *sigh*

  2. July 6, 2010 3:16 pm

    I have no facts to back this up, but I think the pick-up line as we knew it (i.e. the corny stuff like ‘was your dad a thief? because he put jewels in your eyes’…) is a wholly American concept. Meaning, it’s something that is packages and convenient. Latin cultures like French (we tend to forget that French comes from latin), Spanish and Italian have an entirely different idea of romance. There are icons like Cyrano de Bergerac, Don Juan and Casanova. Even the English who are often thought of as standoff-ish have their own literary legends like Romeo and Juliet. North Americans have Harlequin Romances, Cosmo and Maxim. Bah.

Leave a Reply

