Skip to content

The Golden Girls

June 25, 2010

I’ve been obsessed with Golden Girl reruns for the last couple months. Man, they were amazing. Such a funny bunch of ladies. Comedic geniuses, I say. Soooo many amazing quotes, but what really amazes me is the subject matter. It was a really avant-garde show for its time. Think about it, it ran from 1985 to 1992 and it featured not only three, but four middle-aged women as its stars. You don’t see that every day. Please don’t quote Sex and the City to me. Totally not the same deal. 

Sure, there’s a lot of sitting around eating cheese cake and talking about sex, but they also tackle themes like abortion, motherhood, homosexuality, racism, interracial relationships, agism, menopause, and on and on like that. I was a kid when it first played on TV, but I was a fan back then as well as now. Sure, I probably didn’t get the importance of some of the issues that played out on the screen in front of me, but the laughs were still there. 

There’s a new show that just started called Hot in Cleveland. It stars Betty White as a Sophia type character: an eighty year old that says the darndest things, and three women in their 40’s who relocate to Cleveland via LA, because the men in Ohio seem to dig them even though they’re sooo old according to LA standards. Sounds pretty familiar to me and it’s not nearly as good. Although, Betty White still kicks comedic ass. 

The Golden Girls ate a lot of cheesecake (a classic moment in all episodes), but they also had real and frank discussions about sex and sexuality in general. This was almost two decades before Sex and the City. Ahem, Sex and the City might have raised a few eyebrows with all its sex talk, but The Golden Girls were there before anyone else. 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2010 3:22 pm

    I used to love watching The Golden Girls when I was growing up. It was one of my favorite TV shows. Now I watch Judge Judy whenever it’s on. I can’t help but think these two viewing habits are related 😉

  2. June 25, 2010 3:36 pm

    I don’t exactly see the relation there, but what ever floats your boat. Lol, ; P.

  3. Nicole permalink
    June 28, 2010 9:30 am

    My girlfriend went through a Golden Girls phase until one fateful episode where the women procure some help around the house. They find a maid, who is Black from Jamaica, and the racist jokes ensue. I know it was a “product of the time”, but I think it’s important to note the problematic aspects to many of our most beloved heroes. In this case, Golden Girls was brilliant, beautiful and hilarious, but propagated the underlying racism and white supremacist attitudes that are still around today.

    but OMG Betty White please do me.

  4. June 30, 2010 11:20 am

    I just saw that episode, and although I hear what you’re saying, I didn’t feel offended by the “racist jokes”. It just didn’t feel racist in tone to me, not in a perpetuating way. It felt like it was more of a comment on the characters themselves and the time they lived in rather than perpetuating stereotypes. They showed the sort of awkwardness some people feel around what they perceive as otherness and how they buy into their projected stereotypes and end up creating a situation that is removed from the reality of it all and in the end revealing themselves and their attitudes as foolish.

  5. June 30, 2010 5:05 pm

    C’mon! Can you not see how easily Judge Judy would fit in as a Golden Girl??? She’s practically Estelle Getty’s character incarnate! “Baloney!” 🙂

  6. June 30, 2010 5:39 pm

    Haha, okay, maybe. Judge Judy irritates me though, I much prefer Estelle Getty.

Leave a Reply

