Skip to content

The Dead Dolls

June 22, 2010

The Dead Dolls are one of Montreal’s premier Burlesque troupes. I saw them perform for the first time a couple of months ago at Cafe Cleopatra’s 35th anniversary. Their shtick or gimmick is that they dress up as dead dolls. Zombie aficionados will drool, but they certainly won’t be the only ones. They are not your typical burlesque dancers. Each member of the troupe brings her own look and style to add to the mix. 

I was excited and couldn’t wait to see them on stage. I’m not sure what I was expecting exactly, but I was definitely more than impressed. They appeared on stage three times and each and every time they raised the bar. Well rehearsed, well choreographed, and well, pretty darn awesome, The Dead Dolls pulled and tugged at my theatrical and voyeuristic heart strings. It was the type of show you suddenly find yourself wanting to get involved in. 

Their first act was a rendition, or rather an adaptation of Swan Lake. Very cute, complete with ballet slippers: a couple swans even lost a few feathers. Their second act started with a bang. The performers came on stage one at a time and the first girl to appear had a walk and a presence to die for. I couldn’t take my eyes off of her during the whole show. It was really incredible, because she was completely devoid of any self-consciousness, which is a great thing to have as a performer. Their third act was equally great. They did this thing where they were dancing with umbrellas and when they opened them and started twirling them over their head glitter fell out of the umbrellas like a perfect spring rainfall. 

I wish I had pictures of the actual show, sadly I don’t, but I DO however have picture of them backstage before the performance. Enjoy! 

Credit for the fabulous photos goes to Elizabeth Catherine

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nathan T. permalink
    June 23, 2010 5:49 pm

    I was at the show also – you are right, one of the striking things about these performers
    is their lack of self-consciousness.They just go out there and bam ,hit it up.
    I really liked the different styles of the drag queens.I never realized how diverse it could be.
    my first time to that venue and I hope to return.

  2. June 23, 2010 6:16 pm

    Hey, I’m glad to hear from someone who was actually there. It was my first time to that venue as well, but I’d definitely like to go back. I’m curious to see what the strip club downstairs looks like. I know that they often have something interesting happening upstairs. Great place for sure! They have fetish nights too..

  3. July 5, 2010 8:13 am

    I went to that show too, with a gang of friends and some extra tag-alongs.

    We (my gal and I) check in on the Cabaret from time to time, and it will be a true loss to Montreal if it goes down.

    That night, the 35th anniversary, actually DID work: it was fun to see a mash-up of old and new, burlesque and queen, layers (may I say… feathers?) of overlapping camp/alter-sexual humour. I am not in this scene, just a spectator, so I am sure to be missing the language for this stuff.

    Also, I loved *loved* the historical footnotes. Keep this event coming! 36th, 37th, etc.

    Mark each year of the continued existence of the Cleopatre, and keep the stories–and the spectacles–flowing!

  4. July 5, 2010 1:23 pm

    The historical footnotes were pretty amazing. So many things I didn’t know and was pretty amazed to find out.

Leave a Reply

