Skip to content

Camelflage

June 12, 2010

Everyone knows what camel toe is, right? Personally, I came across this term when watching the TV show Weeds. There’s an episode where Dean brings his daughter shopping for clothes and he freaks out a little when she tries on an outfit and he realizes her pants cling to her cunt a little too snugly. I’d be hard pressed trying to think of a more scaring situation as a teenager than having my dad tell me what the hell camel toe means. Actually, now that I think about it, I had heard about it before, there were some guys in high school who made fun of a particular teacher because of her too snug jeans. 

While looking through my news feed on Facebook, I came across a link to this website: Camelflage. They sell panties that have a built-in pads in the crotch area so that you never have to worry about showing a little camel toe to the world (patent pending). 

How it works 

The insert is sewn into the panty – your protection is always secure! Learn more about how these panties work to keep you confident, comfortable and smooth in tight situations. You will feel safe and secure knowing you aren’t “that girl” everyone is laughing at behind your back. 

They will “smooth out your feminine parts” satisfaction guaranteed!

Before & After 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Who else is a little troubled by this? Sure, on one hand I don’t necessarily want my pants to show the definition of my labia to the world, but on the other, I find myself kind of disturbed without being able to pinpoint exactly why. Let me start by saying that the before and after pics seem a little off to me. The pants clearly don’t fit the model quite right in the before picture. Actually, it doesn’t even look like the same model in the after picture. The shape of the hips and legs don’t match, and the material of the pants seems different as well. 

Something’s amiss. 

Remember when panty lines were hot as opposed to the bane of every young girls existence? I’m not a thong gal myself, and I’m all for smooth lines when it comes to clothing, but “smoothing out your feminine parts” seems like too much of a trend in the last few years to ignore. These days, even the non-padded bras are padded to “smooth out” or hide the definition of your nipples. Spanx are made to pull everything in and smooth everything out. Doesn’t that make you feel like a little of a doll instead of a person with actual flesh that isn’t as easily contained?

That’s it right there, it’s all about containment. Put on a pair of underwear, cover those with some spanx, cover those with a pair of nylons, a bra, a shaping tank, your clothes, your shoes, makeup, accessories…Can you breath under there or do you feel like a sausage wearing earrings? I don’t exactly see men donning undergarments that smooth out their masculine parts effectively turning them in eunuchs. So, there’s definitely something to be said about an inherent contradiction when it comes to clothing that in a way desexualizing a woman’s body by hiding her true form: nipples, labia, etc, and at the same time hypersexualizing her by pushing out her breast and lifting up her ass. 

No wonder I’m confused!

P.S. It feels a little bit like censorship, my nipples and labia have been bleeped from the world!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2010 2:46 pm

    I actually see quite a few camel toes in public. I don’t think most women look in the mirror before leaving the house.

    Funny story. I was at church one day and I went up the stairs to the balcony. Ahead of me were a couple of teenage girls and one of them had on hip-hugger jeans. She didn’t care that her crack was showing until she glanced back and saw me. She then reached back and yanked up her pants until she got to the top. Didn’t have a whale-tail though.

    My point is, dress how you like, but then don’t complain when flashing the world.

    How about do a post on the history of female fashion through the centuries?

  2. June 12, 2010 2:50 pm

    Maybe, a post on the history of female fashion through the centuries would actually require research though instead of me just mouthing off as usual…

  3. Liz permalink
    June 12, 2010 5:52 pm

    I do have to voice one thing – the bulge. And while the bulge is in some circles considered hot I think those circles probably died in the ’70s. And men sporting pants that would create such a look, are often quite mocked as well… or even worse when you can see the shape, of well, everything. Blech.

    The whole concept of panties that would conceal the camel toe is kind of a waste of money. What we should be promoting is the wearing of clothes that fit nicely and are comfortable. I don’t mean, like, tucking and slimming and shoving and concealing but a well tailored outfit is hot and avoids all the awkward pitfalls of things like bulges and cameltoes.

    Though I’m totally with you on the not being into airbrushing or hiding nipples. Let’s get the fuck over boobs already. Please?? Like lingerie catalogues taking the nipples out? Not being able to breastfeed in public? Weird bras? So not into that.

  4. June 12, 2010 6:45 pm

    I agree. Totally with you there.

    On another note, I remember when I went to Cancun with my dad when I was ten years old, and there was this guy there who brought us scuba diving and hung out around the hotel offering his tour guide-ish services. He was a pretty big guy, I remember, really tall. He wore the type of swim trunks that were popular in the late 80’s and every time he sat down I could see his MASSIVE balls and cock. Pretty sure, those were the first balls and cock I had ever seen and they were sooooo big, I was traumatized. First of all, I didn’t want to be seeing his junk, but at the same time you just couldn’t look away.

  5. Janvanize permalink
    June 13, 2010 9:45 am

    To add to Liz’s comment, the problem with camel toe is that the pants are too frigging tight!! If she was wearing underwear, just even regular ones, and the pants are still taking control, you must realize honey that your few extra pound may require you to venture to an additional clothing size!!
    Additionally, I’m all for leggings, but that fashion required long shirts. Now leggings are worne with short t-shirts all over exspacially noticeable on campus. Part of me thinks that if your confortable with it wear it, but the other is wondering what happen to leaving some to the imagination.
    It’s like a car accident, you can’t stop staring you should look away but you can’t!! lol

    PS> Eww, i know the cock & ball shorts you are referring to 😛

  6. June 13, 2010 12:08 pm

    They’re making leggings now that look like jeans…Jeggings they’re calling them. I actually kind of like them.

  7. Liz permalink
    June 14, 2010 11:13 pm

    HAHAHAHA… Oh God. That’s the worst!!

  8. naturegirl1 permalink
    June 18, 2010 10:29 am

    I would love to wear jeggings, but my fat arse makes that idea a non-starter!!

  9. June 18, 2010 12:52 pm

    I feel like you might be exaggerating about your supposed fat arse.

  10. naturegirl1 permalink
    June 18, 2010 3:39 pm

    have you seen my arse lately?! 3 years of studying + 18 months of deskwork =shot figure….

  11. Janvanize permalink
    June 19, 2010 10:02 am

    I agree, I’ve never seen the jeggings made in my size, and yes the stretch factor has been considered, but there’s no way that is enough material to make it around the big round. LOL

  12. naturegirl1 permalink
    June 23, 2010 2:45 pm

    Ok, she looks good, but she is large up top too, I just have a flabby belly & fat arse, my boobs are still fairly perky & they just make the rest look…..urgh!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Camelflage « Cuntlove -- Topsy.com
  2. A Well Tailored Outfit « Mimi Paris
  3. Get Rid of Those Unsightly Vulva Lines « Cuntlove
  4. Camel Toe Cup & Merkin Love « Cuntlove

Leave a Reply

