Skip to content

The Lowdown

June 9, 2010

It’s official, I’ve been doing a boatload of nothing for the last month. There has been no creative output, at least not in a productive way. I was fired at the end of April and subsequently fell into a loop of nothingness and TV. I can’t tell you how many episodes of The Golden Girls and Criminal Minds I’ve watched. A lot! P.S. I don’t recommend watching a TV show about profilers and serial killers on repeat, it plays with your minds. Last week I spent three days planning my future career as a forensic anthropologist. 

That’s what I do when I give up on pursuing a career in the arts, I think of alternative career paths and get pretty gun-ho about it until I realize that that kind of life would only chip away at my soul. That’s usually right about the time, I also come up with crazy money making schemes until I talk some sense into myself and realize that there really isn’t an easy way out and that whatever it is you do it’s going to take a lot of effort. The effort part is usually what I find hard. Shh, don’t tell my parents, they’re already on my ass about not having achieved all their my dreams. 

I do have two interviews set up for today. Cross your fingers. 

Now, on to more interesting updates. I had a little something published in the latest issue of Lickety Split, a Montreal smut zine for those of you not already in the know, and in an effort to create some buzz for Lickety Split’s work issue, I was invited into the ckut 90.3fm recording booth where I read the piece in question. The show, Audio Smut’s Jerking It, aired on June 2nd, but for those of you interested you can still download it from their website.   

With all that said and done, I’m going to have breakfast now. Stay tuned for an update on the package goodies I received in the mail yesterday. 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2010 4:18 pm

    Sorry you lost your job. It sucks. Hope you find something soon.

  2. June 10, 2010 8:16 am

    Me too, me too.

  3. June 10, 2010 2:47 pm

    Sorry to hear about that. Best of luck in your search. I hope it was nothing personal so to speak, such as some one who took a dim view of your blog.

  4. June 10, 2010 2:51 pm

    If it had anything to do with the blog they certainly didn’t tell me.

  5. naturegirl1 permalink
    June 12, 2010 9:55 am

    Two interviews is a start, good luck!
    I was wondering why there had been a lack of input lately, I was going to email you to see if you were ok, I’m happy to see you are still with us!!

  6. June 12, 2010 11:17 am

    Oh ya, I’m still here alive and kicking. I’m just filled with anxiety over the prospect of not being able to pay rent and possibly getting evicted.

  7. naturegirl1 permalink
    June 12, 2010 1:29 pm

    Shit, that focuses the mind, doesn’t it?!

  8. June 12, 2010 1:39 pm

    In a manner of speaking.

Leave a Reply

