Skip to content

Two Definitions For The Price of One

February 8, 2010

If you’re a frequent reader, you may have noticed that a few weeks ago I wrote about a book I had recently bought: The Encyclopedia of Erotic Wisdom. I had transcribed their definition of orgasm and today, I’m going to give you two more definitions. Hopefully, like last time, you’ll feel compelled to share your thoughts or your experiences when it comes to these words. Here we go…

Sexual Imprinting   The Islamic, Ishmailian “heretics”  known as Nizari Ishm’ilis were apparently masters of sexual imprinting, binding their “initiates” to them by creating an unforgettable erotic experience, using drugs and multiple sexual partners to create a kind of erotocomatose lucidity. Apart from such consciously designed imprints, most members of our species are subject to incidents of sexual imprinting of a less obvious and more unconscious type: our education and first sexual experiences. The techniques for, and the abuse of, sexual imprinting are described in detail in the works of Timothy Leary and Robert Anton Wilson. 

Hermaphrodite   The mythical figure and/or symbol that combines the God Hermes and the goddess Aphrodite into a double-sexed personality, thought it is sometimes interpreted as being neutral and nonsexual. This must not be confused with the  concept of androgyny, in which the male and female poles do not physically coexist, but are seen as existing in an integrated way on a psychological level, with repression of neither and the one complementing the other. To the ancient alchemists, the hermaphrodite represented perfection. Symbolically this image can be compared to those of the hexagram Chi Chi and the Chinese symbol of yin and yang. 

Though families and individuals themselves often keep it as secret as possible, hermaphroditic children are still born. Most often the male part of the hermaphrodite’s genitals is surgically removed, and the child is dressed and “trained” (see Sexual Imprinting) as a girl. If you are not really a “man”, within the black-and-white definition of society, you must be a woman: Our patriarchal culture cannot bear ambiguity or anything undefined and “in between”. 

I definitely want to read more about sexual imprinting, it seems like a very interesting subject. I’ll have to  track down some Timothy Leary and Anton Wilson on the matter. If and when I do, I’ll share more info with you guys, but in the meantime if you have something to say on the subject go right ahead. Also, I’d be interested in hearing about personal experiences that you think have “imprinted” or shaped you sexually. 

It seems so obvious that hermaphrodite is a combination of the god Hermes and Aphrodite, but I had simply never thought about it before. I think it puts a rather beautiful spin on the word. It’s good to see that physical states of being that some might now consider “outside of society’s norms” were once seen as perfection. It gives me hope for the future. 

As a quick side note, I once had a dream that I was a hermaphrodite and to put it simply, I could literally fuck myself. My cock had magic backward bending powers and apparently I could also levitate during sex with myself. I was also quite well endowed. Make of that what you will. 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2010 7:55 pm

    I have heard of sexual imprinting being used in BDSM techniques. In “Screw the roses, send me thorns” the authors talk about this a bit…, although more in terms of sensory relocation. EG: why your cunt tingles when your earlobe is nibbled upon, and how the body responds to conditioning when the mind associates a sexual fascination to a thought, that could turn into a fantasy if your body is sexually stimulated at the same time. Over time your mind and body become in synch and that thought can turn you on without your body being stimulated. In sensory relocation, you can relate one sensation on one part of the body to an erotic zone that turns you on. Ear Lobe = Cunt.

    Although I think what you are talking about is more LSD trips (Timothy Leary) and imprinting that is similar to brainwashing in a way… Not sure if any of this makes sense though… A very complicated topic, but interesting! Actually, I think you have to be on an psychedelic trip to understand the concept fully! 😉

  2. February 8, 2010 8:09 pm

    There’s definitely a correlation between drug usage and the type of sexual imprinting that went on within certain communes and errr cults and the like. Probably a lot of shifty gurus used lsd to tie their disciples to them in sexual ways. And although that’s interesting, I was thinking about it more on a psychological level. Cognitive and behavioral in this instance. What you wrote about, I think, falls into that category. Sort of like Pavlov’s experiment where he trained his dog to salivate at the sound of a bell. I think the same concept can be utilized when thinking about certain fetishes or like you mentioned sensory relocation.

    I’m also interested in it’s application on a more personal and on a more subtle level. Any sexual experience that we’ve had has in a way become part of our sexual imprinting. All of the sexual feelings we’ve ever had are attached to specific and varying sensory elements, from sound, smell, touch, et al. Those events have shaped our responses and our responses in turn shape our future reactions to varying sensory experiences. Am I making sense? My food just got here and I’m gonna eat instead of editing this response.

  3. February 9, 2010 3:29 pm

    Yeah, I think that totally makes sense. I often wonder about my kinkiness and fetishes. They say, most women don’t have fetishes, but I do. I have wondered were did they come from? Was there an event in my childhood that sparked my interest in them? I can’t really remember any specific incidents when something may have triggered an erotic response for me. Although I was sexually curious and adventurous from a very young age and remember lots of other “incidents” but none of them seem to correlate to my fetishes. I’m sure there is something buried somewhere. But, I can never quite put my finger on it…

  4. February 9, 2010 8:27 pm

    The things that are buried are what interest me. I like to play around with the idea of it, but sometimes I question my actual desire to figure it out. Maybe there are some things we’re better off not knowing. It might take some of the pleasure away. I don’t know, it’s just something I think about sometimes.

Leave a Reply

