Skip to content

Masturbation As Meditation

February 3, 2010

When I was 18 or 19, at a time in my life when I had a lot of free time on my hands (not unlike now), I had the freedom to take really long showers. The shower in the apartment I lived in at the time had really good water pressure, if you know what I mean. I realized that after getting into the habit of masturbating every morning, I found myself feeling pretty relaxed everyday. I came to the conclusion that masturbation could count as a form of self-help, stress relief, therapy, which led me to believe that everyone should masturbate at least once a day and that if everyone did we’d live in a much better world.

Betty Dodson in her book Sex for One writes about Masturbation as Meditation. As she tells it, she had started practicing transcendental meditation everyday in two twenty minute sessions. At one point, when pressed for time, she decided to incorporate her meditation mantra into her masturbation session. Instead of two twenty minute sessions a day, she would masturbate for forty minutes every night while repeating her mantra. Time saving and delightfully orgasmic. What a discovery she had made, “Now everyone will want to meditate”. 

Not exactly, her meditation friends tended to think her obsession with sex had showed up at the wrong place and time. Her sex minded friends thought it was kind of funny and others sort of gently patted her on the head “assuming [she] wanted to aggrandize masturbation”. I know, patronizing, right? But wait, she got some facts to back her shit up. Betty Dodson would jerk off for science. Her friend Raymond, a P.h.D. sex researcher, was conducting a study at Rutger’s University, which would demonstrate the significance of brain phenomena during orgasm. 

[Raymond] was investigating how sexual behavior affects the right and left hemispheres […] He would be monitoring brain activity with an electroencephalograph (EEG) while also recording cardiac, circulatory, and muscular changes in the body. 

On the day Betty would play guinea pig, she showed up at the lab with her trusted vibrator and needed nothing but the reality of the situation: “Three faceless lovers in white coats, fingering dials and carefully adjusting instruments as they watched the readout on Anonymous Subject Number 5503”, to get herself off. Just before the Big O, which has been proceeded by a smaller one, tragedy would strike: the idiots cut her off and told her the session was over. 

Incredible! All three scientists had pulled out just as I was about to come. Damn it! Why do men always do that? I fumed. They’d missed recording my Bog O by three seconds. […] Later I learned who My technician lovers had short-circuited my second orgasm. They feared I was on the onset of a heart attack! According to their graphs and charts ecstasy was hazardous to my health. Scientific nonsense! I’d been having orgasm like that for years. 

Despite the miscommunication between Betty and her technician lovers, the results where still fascinating. Raymond explained to Betty the concept of different brain frequencies referred to as beta (ordinary consciousness and rational thinking), alpha (REM sleep), theta (deep sleep with little or no dream activity), and delta (deepest level, muscle activity is suspended and coma occurs). 

It all made sense.

The minute I threw the switch on my vibrator, my brain waves registered alpha, and they stayed there throughout the entire masturbation sequence except just before the medium orgasm and again before the Big O they missed recording. At those points, my brain waves dipped down into theta. I was using a deeper dimension of my mind for experiencing pleasure. My brain was having a quick, deep, restful sleep, while my body was moving, heart pumping, blood flowing, and muscles flexing all the way through orgasm. 

There you have it, another good reason to masturbate!

26 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 4:26 pm

    I guess I’ve been Zen all this time. 🙂

  2. February 3, 2010 4:50 pm

    Ain’t it grand!?

  3. February 3, 2010 8:38 pm

    This is fabulous! This would be a great argument to have prolonged sex – more alpha and theta time!

    On the theme of masturbation, meditation, and relaxation – I always thought that everyone should masturbate just before going to work. I wonder if this would cut down on road rage (at least on the way to work!)?

    http://ReclaimYourSexuality.blogspot.com

  4. February 3, 2010 8:40 pm

    More orgasms = less road rage. I think you’re on to something.

  5. naturegirl1 permalink
    February 4, 2010 11:19 am

    Maybe, but I’d be permanently exhausted!! Wouldn’t do to fall asleep at the wheel…….

  6. February 4, 2010 1:51 pm

    I find that masturbation gives me a boost of energy.

  7. February 8, 2010 3:33 am

    What can I say? Wow. You’ve outdone yourself. This is especially true to me. I sometimes masturbate in the shower while the water hits me and it feels nice and warm, and I imagine a body pressed up against me. I could talk on and on about masturbation, but feeling good is definitely healthy. Masturbation as meditation, sure why not. It brings me to the zero state. And I hope for doomsday to occure while I ejaculate to bring in the perfect punchline. Or maybe if I died right after, that could be the punchline I’ve been waiting for. Eitherway, the payoff, in all it’s glory is still just 8 seconds long. Fuck. For a guy, anyway.

  8. February 8, 2010 1:53 pm

    It’s a good eight seconds though. And I agree on the shower part…

  9. February 8, 2010 2:44 pm

    It’s quantity not time that counts. I’ve never actually timed it though. 😉

  10. February 8, 2010 6:19 pm

    I thought it was quality that counted…?

  11. naturegirl1 permalink
    February 9, 2010 3:47 pm

    Is it me or is this all getting a bit surreal??!

  12. February 9, 2010 8:27 pm

    Hehe, maybe.

  13. Dawn permalink
    July 30, 2010 4:13 pm

    Orgasm, as in “small death!” Indeed, when I masturbate my final big o’s are so intense, I could see how the reverse sensation could equal death and register as such for a heart monitor. It almost seems as though they (the technicians) should have expected as much! 🙂

  14. July 30, 2010 4:17 pm

    It’s a wonder how little people still know about the physicality of an orgasm.

  15. Frank permalink
    October 23, 2011 8:44 pm

    Is it bad for a male to masturbare everyday?

  16. October 23, 2011 9:04 pm

    No, I don’t think it’s bad for anyone to masturbate everyday.

  17. Frank permalink
    October 24, 2011 3:03 pm

    Some myths say that a makes a man cum faster when having sex that is the reason i worry..

  18. October 24, 2011 4:49 pm

    I’m no doctor, but most masturbation myths are false. I would say logically you would actually build stamina with masturbation, because you get your body used to being touched in that way. You can also practice making yourself last longer when your masturbating.

  19. Frank permalink
    October 24, 2011 5:59 pm

    How can i practice building my stamina? Because I guess I do have average stamina but it would be nicer for my partner and I if i would last longer.

  20. October 24, 2011 6:20 pm

    Again, I’m not an expert and I’m sure there are tones of resources for this particular subject on the Internet. But let’s say your masturbating and you feel like your about to come, well you can pull back on the intensity, maybe squeeze the base of your dick a little, and then start masturbating again, slowly building in intensity.

    Also, Kegel exercises for men (just look it up) are usually recommended to men treating pre-mature ejaculation. That doesn’t seem to be one of your issues, but it can only increase stamina.

    I don’t know what your personal situation is or what your concern is exactly, but let me just had that hour long fuck sessions aren’t exactly the holy-grail when it comes to sex. There are a bunch of things you can do to increase pleasure and the length of time you and your partner are having fun. Foreplay, oral sex, etc. And let’s say you come, but you still want to play there’s no harm in using sex toys to keep the fun going. And who knows, in the middle of all that you might get hard again and be ready to go for a second round.

    Hope that was helpful.

  21. Frank permalink
    October 24, 2011 6:58 pm

    Yes that was very helpful. The problem I have is that when i am going to come i can’t hold it but I will practice so I can get more pleasure out of sex. Though I was thinking not masturbating can build stamina because when I masturbate three time a day and then hold it for about a week I come a lot more and last a lot longer.

  22. October 24, 2011 7:03 pm

    Ejaculating more makes sense, because there’s a built up of sperm, I imagine, when you’re not coming three times a day. I’ll have to research the whole masturbation thing as it relates to endurance, but I don’t see how it has an impact. My guess you want the pleasure to last longer when you haven’t come in a while so you delay gratification. Again, though, I’m no expert, but you just gave me a great idea for a post.

  23. Frank permalink
    October 24, 2011 7:09 pm

    Thanks this blog site has really informed me and I find it very helpful. One more question, how small do you think a guys penis should be in order for a girl to really enjoy sex?

  24. October 24, 2011 7:19 pm

    I guess, there is such a thing as too small or too big. But, it really depends on the individual person. Just like all penises (peni?) are different shapes and sizes so to are vaginas. It’s all about a good fit and what each partner prefers, as well as how the, huh, equipment is used. Size matters to the extent that each person is built differently and find satisfaction in different ways.

    For instance, one of my favorite vibrators is only about four inches long, because it hits my g-spot just right.

    In a partnered sexual relationship communication is key. I don’t mean you should ask your lover if your dick is too small or two big just because you need your ego flattered, but it’s important to pay attention to what the other person needs and likes. And don’t be afraid to ask for what you need and want, as well as asking what would please your partner.

    I wouldn’t worry about penis size too much, because most of the time too big is a bigger problem than too small or average.

  25. Frank permalink
    October 24, 2011 7:23 pm

    That is so true!!! Thanks for all the advice!! Would you mind if i emailed you questions about sex related issues ?

  26. October 24, 2011 7:25 pm

    No, I don’t mind. Go right ahead. You can use the contact form at the top right there.

Leave a Reply

