Skip to content

Why I Love The Word Cunt

January 10, 2010

Someone recently told me that they love the word “cunt” above all other words referring to the same beautiful thing. He wasn’t quite sure why, perhaps he said “it’s because it’s a one syllable word”, in any case “it’s an instant turn on”. I agree, it’s a damn wonderful word. I prefer “cunt” over “pussy”. “Pussy” doesn’t feel like it belongs to me, it belongs to someone else who wants to use it for its warmth and wetness, but never its strength. A “cunt” on the other hand has muscle, it pulls you by the gut and holds on. 

I call it cunt. I’ve reclaimed it, “cunt’. I really like it. “Cunt.” Listen to it. “Cunt.” C C, Ca Ca. Cavern, cackle, clit, cute, come – closed c – closed inside, inside ca –  then u – then cu – then curvy, inviting sharkskin u – uniform, under, up, urge, uhg, ugh, u – then n then cun – snug letters fitting perfectly together – n – nest, now, nexus, nice, nice, always depth, always round in uppercase, cun, cun – n a jagged wicked electrical pulse – n [high-pitched noise] then soft n – warm n – cun, cun, then t – then sharp certain tangy t – texture, take, tent, tight, tantalizing, tensing, taste, tendrils, time, tactile, tell me, tell me “Cunt cunt,” say it, tell me “Cunt.” “Cunt.”

                                                           – Excerpt from The Vagina Monologues
 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Wayne permalink
    January 10, 2010 2:38 pm

    I LOVE the word when it’s used by a woman, especially durring sex. But I find it tawdry and/or offensive when used by a man.

  2. naturegirl1 permalink
    January 10, 2010 5:18 pm

    Now that’s interesting! I shy away from “cunt”, prefering Pussy or (here in the UK) fanny, but a few guys I know use cunt quite a lot, usually in a derogatory way, but occasionally in the nicest sence too.
    Between me & Phil, I use fanny, but when talking to female friends I use vagina (though with very close friends it’s fanny).

  3. January 10, 2010 5:33 pm

    I find the use of Vagina misleading sometimes, since most people tend to misuse it and say vagina when in reality they mean vulva.

    Both cunt and pussy are used in a derogatory manner. Pussy being used to make someone feel weaker, as in “you’re such a pussy” and cunt being used to make someone feel bad about being harsh or domineering. So with one there is an associated weakness while with the other there’s an associated strength (even if you are meant to feel bad about that strength). It’s that whole thing where a woman is called a bitch when she shows power while a men is simply powerful.

  4. January 10, 2010 5:33 pm

    It always depends on the context.

  5. Daveoh permalink
    January 10, 2010 7:20 pm

    I love the word cunt. It is strangely arousing….and not because it is “naughty”. I have had lovers (including my current wife who likes its use) who used it during sex, almost overloading my circuits!

    But as “bad words” go, don’t forget the words “prick”, “dick” and “dickhead” are derogatory as well. They are interchangeably used with “cunt” that way- perhaps with slightly different connotations- but just as perjorative. “Bitch” is not just used when a woman shows power. The connotations are, in my mind, crabby and unyielding. Just like “Bastard” has become for men. It’s not about strength, but intransigence.

    Sexually? Cunt (as in the root of a woman’s power) is way better than “pussy” (which is cute) or “twat” or “cooze”.

    It does show society’s hangups though; I was once told by a Ukrainian friend of mine (Ukrainian readers feel free to correct!) that calling someone a prick in Ukrainian made no sense at all. As in “you are a penis”. Calling someone a son-of-a-bitch, however, might get you killed since you are calling his mother a dog!

    We Canadians who speak French know the worst curses are related to the Roman Catholic Church. As a kid living in suburban Montreal, I once yelled “Sacrament!” at someone in a loud voice (this was bout 1963). It was as if time stood still; everyone stopped what they were doing and looked at me, astonished that such filth could be uttered in public without a thunderbolt coming out of the sky and smiting me on the spot.

    You think the world has changed a bit since then?

  6. January 11, 2010 3:27 pm

    Oh, I know that the words used to refer to men’s sexual organs can be used in a derogatory manner as well. Most curse words in English refer to sex. Sex is the line of no return, while for French people it’s the Church. I mean, right there it says a lot about both cultures.

  7. Dawn permalink
    July 30, 2010 5:03 pm

    Until here recently, I thought the word “cunt” was offensive and sounded as such. Now, in the last couple o’years it can be a turn on. I don’t know if I matured because of hearing used the word used in a most sexy way in other countries or what, but I say it while fucking frequently now. And now that I think of it! I do say it to make my husband bang harder or faster, so I think you’re correct that the word conveys strength. Now I really like the word. Cunt..cunt.mmmm

  8. July 30, 2010 10:40 pm

    I think it’s funny that out of the two most offensive swear words: fuck and cunt, they are also the most versatile in tone. I mean, a “fuck yeah” can be just as positive as a “fuck you” can be negative. I think cunt functions in a very similar way in terms of having both a positive and negative connotation.

Leave a Reply

