Skip to content

Why I Hate Psychics

November 18, 2009

My Mom used to be a fan of psychics, I remember her dragging me along to a couple of readings where I invariably spend most of my time bored as hell waiting in an adjacent room. Sometimes, she would bring along my white and red Fisher Price tape recorder so she could painstakingly analyze every detail with one of her friends at a later date. She wasn’t what I would call a true believer, but she did enjoy her own little slice of the mystery.

I never partook in the fun, perhaps the uncertainty (of life) I faced as a kid wasn’t as frightening as the uncertainty of adulthood, but when I was sixteen my mother brought me to have my cards read. Now, the strange part was that the psychic in question also happened the be the janitor of the elementary school I went to from grade 5 to 6. He was a tall skinny man with long black hair, come to think of it he kind of looked like Alice Cooper, but the most striking feature of his whole persona was the van he drove to school. It was one of those vans, popular in the eighties, not meant for a family, but for fun times. Pitch black, it had one tear drop shaped window on the side near the rear and it also featured some kind of purple airbrushed design. Now, the reason it was so remarkable was the fact that he washed and buffed that piece of metal every single day during lunch hour. It shone like black ice. 

It was a odd feeling to be standing in his house, years later, waiting to have my fortune told. I can’t tell you if any of the things he told me came true, because I can’t recall any of them, but what I do remember, vividly, is that he began his reading by looking into my past and told me I had been raped. You would think that a 16 year old girl would remember such an event and when I told him he was wrong, he plainly assured me that no matter what I had to say on the matter I had indeed been raped. 

I don’t know why anyone in their right mind would ever say that to anyone, let alone a vulnerable teenager. He prayed on one of my weaknesses, which was my fear of sexual abuse. I’m just as skeptical as the next person, and no matter what you know to be true, when someone tells you with such assurance that you’ve been raped, the thought tends to linger in your mind. Maybe, I read too many cult/rape/incest books in the early 90’s, but the seeds of doubt and insecurity were already in my head, so after he told me this, I began to wonder if it could be true. 

I told myself that what he saw in me (in my cards) was my deep seeded fear of sexual assault. I even told myself that perhaps what he classified as rape, I had classified as a drunken mistake, but none of these explanations where quite as reassuring as I would have liked them to be, so I started to wonder whether it was possible that I had in fact been raped, but that I just couldn’t remember.

Sounds crazy, eh? But that is exactly what happened and in the process I began to test my memory in an attempt to find any period of time that I simply couldn’t remember. Obviously, the further back I went the easier it was to mistrust my memory and I thought that it could have happened when I was so young that I simply blocked it out of my mind. My already fragile psyche started to crumble and no matter how many times I told myself that this was complete and utter bullshit, I couldn’t help but wonder. I questioned every relationship I had with an adult male when I was a kid. I looked at my relatives with suspicious eyes. I asked my mother if she ever left me alone with such and such person. It was a very unsettling experience, the after effects of which still live on in the periphery of my mind, in that place where all of my doubts and fears live. 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2009 5:28 pm

    This filled me with SO much anger. What a fucking asshole that man was. I’ve always disliked people who brand themselves “psychic” and exploit people… but that’s a disgusting extreme. Really, truly sick. Argh.

  2. November 18, 2009 5:39 pm

    Ditto on the “Argh”, I mean I’ve pretty much put it behind me now, for the most part anyhow, but I still feel a pretty strong revulsion towards psychics and the like.

  3. Jake Lara permalink
    November 18, 2009 10:00 pm

    Thats pretty nasty, on top of presumably taking your mothers money.

  4. November 18, 2009 10:08 pm

    My Mom was just telling me a couple weeks ago that a friend of hers went to see him recently. I was kind of pissed. Brought the whole thing up again.

  5. Lene permalink
    November 19, 2009 8:34 am

    I don’t like psychicic, I don’t beleive in that and think those people are thieves.
    But I do have a friend and her sis who were abused by an older cousin when they were 4 and 5 and they totally forgot it until their teenage year, it came back when my friend was abused by a boy and it brought everything back.

  6. November 19, 2009 11:15 am

    Whoa. Very creepy. What a terrible experience. I’d certainly hate “psychics” after an experience like that too.

  7. November 19, 2009 1:33 pm

    Well, that right there is part of what spurred on my paranoia, because it is common for people to block that kind of thing out, only to be traumatized by it later in life.

  8. wakingpersephone permalink
    November 23, 2009 5:25 am

    did he specify that it was a sexual rape? (just wondering) tarot cards and psychics are often not literal…

  9. wakingpersephone permalink
    November 23, 2009 5:47 am

    The Tarot is all about allegory and symbolism
    I found this
    maybe some of this can help you put any lingering doubts to rest
    http://suesuessharedsentiments.blogspot.com/2005/03/its-in-cards.html

    I think either the guy was just a douchebag or was really poor at interpreting the cards.

  10. wakingpersephone permalink
    November 23, 2009 5:59 am

    btw–I know it’s long but there’s a specific reference to rape as the reading goes on…it’s worth reading…sorry for all the replies 🙂

  11. November 23, 2009 4:32 pm

    He was quite clear about it being a sexual rape.

  12. November 23, 2009 4:36 pm

    I’m gonna go with douchebag or just “had no sense of what his words could do”.

  13. November 23, 2009 4:36 pm

    Aye, that was a rather long post. To be honest, I didn’t read it all. I mostly skipped through the whole thing, but thanks for the link.

  14. grad student permalink
    November 23, 2009 6:56 pm

    I am going with asshole. What a dick! These people usually just throw so much generic crap and wait to see what sticks… then, they run with that. Most people visiting one have a desire to believe, so they remember that the psychic knew about a ‘male relative with a T name who had heart or abdominal or maybe breathing issues… T, D, C? T yes” well, if you are middle-aged you can probably wrack your mind to find a relative like that.

    Lore says that Houdini told his wife that, if he died before her, he would do all he could to contact her via psychics or mediums. If he did, he would give her a code word. IF the psychic used that word, she would know it was really his spirit. For years after his death, his wife had seances on the anniversary of his death… she never heard the code word. Apparently, Houdini’s mother spent all of her money on mediums and Houdini hated them. This may have been his inspiriation into magic and illusion.

    Sorry for the big tangent there. I hope you were able to get to the ‘that guy was an asshole, he don’t know anything’ point pretty quickly

  15. wakingpersephone permalink
    November 24, 2009 5:33 am

    Not entirely true about Bess

    http://gaffa.org/dreaming/td_houd.html
    the story according to Teller of Penn and Teller

Leave a Reply

