Skip to content

Neil Patrick Harris’ IMDB Forum = People Suck

November 10, 2009

pc-167Alright, so I watched the lasted episode of How I Met Your Mother last night and the genius of Neil Patrick Harris’ prolific comedic talent prompted me to check out his IMDB profile to see what else this gem of a man if going to be acting in. You all know how the Internet works, one minute your looking up future production and the next you’re looking at naked pictures of the newest starlet, but this time around I ended up reading some of the forum activity on Mr. Harris’ profile page and let me tell you I left that place with a heavy heart that was filled with disappointment in the fate of mankind. 

Why you ask? Because every other message thread was about his sexuality, and not only that, but more specifically contained some really horrific commentary on his sexuality. Here are a few choice examples of the titles of these thread: “Why does he have to be gay?”, “Would liberals love him so much if he was normal…”, “Men can be close friends but…”, “Do straight girls find him hot?”, “I didn’t know he was a pillow bitter”, and “Top or bottom?”. 

Isn’t the world a wonderful place? I mean, really, aren’t you just a little wee bit tempted to ask yourself what the hell is wrong with people? OK, to be fair, the chick who started the thread called “Why does he have to be gay?” doesn’t really care about his sexuality, she just wishes he would be her date to prom, which you know, is actually kind of cute. 

For the sake of my little rant here, let me quote guy number two: ” it seems to me that liberals love him for his gayness. i bet the’d find him boring if he was normal and not gay”. Normal, normal? WTF?! In the world I live in “normal” people don’t even think to ask such a question. 

Oh and let’s not forget guy number 3’s brilliant account: I had a good friend in High School lets call him Bill. We were good friends talked about a lot of things, drank beer together at high school parties and did class assignments together. We joked about a lot of stuff and talked about women and laughed at the same movies, but the day we graduated from High School he said to me he …. He told me that he loved me and tried to touch me and me being a straight male I rejected him and I never talked to or saw him again. Thats 10 years ago this year, but that simply proves that men can be good friends but carefull if the one part have hidden motives. So if people are gay then be gay with other gays and do not try to drag other people into that world. I respect Mr. N.P. Harris because he is not like Ellen or other gay entertainers who tries to force their lifestyle down the throat of others. I’m a Conservative, and thats my opinion on this matter.” 

I was seriously tempted to correct his spelling and grammar errors, but despite his poor writing skills all I’m left with is a pretty nasty taste in my mouth. Ten years ago, I might have actually taken the time to try and explain to any of these people the fallacy in their views, but seriously how often do you actually change a person’s bigoted attitude by instigating an argument, no matter how much they are begging for it? Pretty much never! Not that I’m saying it’s pointless to even try, but I prefer to save my energy for the tangible occasions for change that pop up in my life. Now, all I have to do is figure out how to tell one of my friends why it’s not cool of him to use the word “fag” every time he questions the masculinity of an object, an action or a person (he’s not a gay basher I swear, he’s french and I think something has gotten lost in the translation).

Rant over. Bad taste in mouth remains. 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2009 2:19 pm

    People are cruel, and it seems online they feel comfortable spreading their mean comments. I think Neil Patrick Harris is a great actor, and cannot figure out why people are obsessed with his personal life enough to say horrible things about him. If they do not like him they should focus on something else!

  2. November 11, 2009 3:14 pm

    Exactly, if I don’t like an actor, for whatever reason, although my reasons tend to be focused in their acting skills, I don’t bother going on to their message boards and ranting and raving about it and I especially don’t focus on their personal lives.

  3. wakingpersephone permalink
    November 11, 2009 7:09 pm

    For a brief moment a few years ago I thought we were finally starting to inch past this garbage. Homophobic sentiment in 40 hip hop had radically declined (which is important because it’s so popular with young kids) under pressure from several powerful voices…this was after that radio host incident, I don’t remember his name…Oprah got on Russel Simmons’ case about hip hop and he took action finally with a few other people and it started to work. FINALLY. I’m a hip hop fan and this was fantastic news, you have NO idea…

    And then Katy Perry showed up and fucked it all up with bullshit like Ur So Gay and I Kissed a Girl (it’s not something good girls do you know, only us sluts and whores and abnormal people) and made it ok again to pull that shit on a regular basis (and get awards for it too) in popular music and therefore with your friends and it’s ramped up again from there.

    I’m very serious.

  4. November 11, 2009 8:09 pm

    I believe you!

    I don’t know what radio host incident you are referring to though? But not that you point it out, there has been a change in hip-hop, especially in the area of homophobia. For some reason, it reminds me of when Eminem play that awards show with Elton John, even though a lot of his lyrics were SUPER homophobic….

  5. Liz permalink
    November 12, 2009 10:58 pm

    I didn’t know he was gay. Why does that make me feel silly? I saw a few clips of the show and thought it was funny anyway but the impression I get is that what makes it so funny is knowing the actor is gay. Which I find strange.

    Oh sigh.

    I miss the days of Dougie Howser M.D.

  6. November 12, 2009 11:33 pm

    I can see how you would have that impression, but the character of Barney (played by NPH on HMYM) was developed before his sexual orientation was such a focus.

    Ah, Dougie Howser, I remember thee.

  7. November 13, 2009 10:58 am

    “Wow, a gay actor playing a straight character!” Really? That’s a novelty? That’s like half of all the great Hamlet performances.

    The odds of me having sex with NPH are about 1 in four-billion, I’ve already way overshot the amount of time I should be thinking of his sexuality. He’s fun to watch on TV, though.

  8. November 18, 2009 5:14 pm

    Yup, he’s great. I almost feel like tracking down some Doogie Howser.

  9. wakingpersephone permalink
    November 23, 2009 3:54 pm

    I don’t know what radio host incident you are referring to though?

    I’m sorry…I forgot to get back to you on this..
    this was that horrible racist comment by a tv host …I thought it was radio but he was on MSNBC apparently. He was commenting about the women on an NCAA womens basketball team

    Don Imus
    http://mediamatters.org/research/200704040011

  10. November 23, 2009 4:43 pm

    Wow, that was really disturbing. I can’t believe they said that shit, let alone even thought about it to say it in the first place. I would have fired him on the spot.

Leave a Reply

