Skip to content

My Bloody Diva Cup

November 8, 2009

I’m on period as we speak and when I went to empty out my Diva Cup before jumping in the shower, I decided to take a couple pictures and show you what it’s all about. The pictures pretty much speak for themselves, but 1. take note of how clean the cup is on the outside, and keep in mind that I masturbated while wearing it. That might have been too much information for some, but I think it just goes to show how clean and useful the Diva cup really is. 2. Check out the consistency of the blood and 3. that was a whole days worth of bleeding, as in 24 hours, and I’m on the second day of my period, which is usually my heaviest.ย 

IMG_1335

IMG_1338

IMG_1339

IMG_1343

IMG_1344

IMG_1346

IMG_1347

IMG_1348_1

IMG_1350_1

IMG_1358

17 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2009 10:56 pm

    Wow, that was actually quite beautiful. Like artful water paintings. It reminds me of a friend of mine who makes art with “abject” materials including her menstrual blood and human hair. You should start a menstruation art project! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I will definitely contribute to that!

  2. November 9, 2009 11:30 am

    Thanks, I like them too. I had some fun. I might repeat the experiment in a different context, but for now I’ll stick to the one project. Speaking of which, I need photos for this weeks Beautiful Cunts installment, so if you know anyone that wants to participate, right now would be perfect.

  3. November 10, 2009 12:31 am

    I forgot about this post!! Anyway, my DivaCup unfortunately did not fit. It hurt horribly to put it in, even when inserted correctly. I’m going to keep trying, hopefully eventually I can get it to work out in my favor ๐Ÿ™‚

    I definitely liked looking at the pictures.. I feel better knowing that when I HAVE used it, my amount of blood and color seem to be not much different from yours. It’s always stressful when stuff down there is way off from others.

  4. November 10, 2009 12:44 am

    I think the moon cup is smaller in size than the diva cup, but it might be worth trying for another week. The first week I used it, it hurt to insert and take out (enough for me to think it it just wasn’t worth it), but the second time around (the next time I had my period) it just seemed to be perfect for some reason.

    Does it hurt you once it’s inserted or only in the put in and take out? it really shouldn’t hurt if it’s installed properly, and if it does it might just be too big for you, but if it’s in the put in and take out, I would try again and see how things go. This livejournal http://community.livejournal.com/menstrual_cups is pretty useful when it comes to reading what other women have to say about various menstrual cups. You’ll find a lot of information about all the different cups out there, inserting and removing methods, cleaning, and a whole host of other subjects. It’s worth weeding though the posts and reading the comments.

    Oh and I’m glad you liked the pictures and found them reassuring, some of my friends kind of thought it was gross, which unfortunately is probably a pretty common reaction.

  5. yeahbutnobutyeahbut permalink
    November 11, 2009 2:10 am

    I swear by my mooncup. It’s quite literally changed my life. I have chronic pain and heavy and clotted periods. Now I can get up each morning I have my period and exercise hard without fear of leaking, being physical helps my pain immensely and also helps buoy my mental/emotional state when my hormones are going crazy.

    Pretty pictures.

    xo

  6. April 1, 2011 9:47 am

    I think I puked in my mouth a little….

  7. Kathleen permalink
    April 5, 2011 7:03 pm

    Oh my gosh, that last comment made me giggle. Not because I’m trying to be mean, but because I couldn’t help it. I literally LOL’d.

    I have VERY heavy periods, and I have to change my cup at least every 6 hours, if not more often on certain days. But my stuff has about the same color/consistency as yours. Sometimes it’s brighter red and it gets brownish the last two days (which I’m not technically menstruating those days). Other than that, about the same.

    Kelly, having something function a little differently than someone else is nothing to be too concerned about. It’s normal for there to be variation in the consistency of menstrual blood, as well as with the color and amount.

  8. April 5, 2011 11:57 pm

    wow. this is now my favorite blog! no joke.

  9. April 7, 2011 7:09 pm

    @DK: Cool! I always like it when people leave comments. It’s one of the great things about blogging…you get to actually interact with readers. I’m always wondering who reads my posts and never leave any comments. They’re like mysterious strangers.

  10. April 7, 2011 7:11 pm

    @Kathleen: I have a pretty average flow and I could get away with emptying my Diva Cup only once a day if I wanted to.

  11. April 7, 2011 7:16 pm

    @Lacy Brooks: I think this is the first “negative” comment this blog has ever gotten.

  12. Kitty permalink
    April 17, 2011 2:10 am

    Hmmm I wonder if they have these in NZ.

  13. April 17, 2011 2:15 am

    @Kitty: Probably. In Canada they sell them in your regular drugstore… I’ve also seen them in natural food stores, sex shops, and of course there’s always the Internet.

  14. pearl permalink
    July 1, 2011 3:36 am

    I was just curious what raw menstural blood looked like… thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. October 17, 2011 9:52 am

    Way to be… it takes a lot of cunt to post pictures of your own blood. I also use the diva cup and posted my opinions of it on my blog http://www.fuckingny.com but used your photo. So thank you. Hope all is good.

Trackbacks

  1. Reddit Discussion About My Bloody Diva Cup « Cuntlove
  2. Britain: Gay Men Allowed to Give Blood « Cuntlove

Leave a Reply

