Skip to content

The Belly Project

October 23, 2009

0814-lizzie-miller_vg_011250796997Dr. Karen Rayne’s and Midwife Christy Tashjian’s put their brilliant minds together and started The Belly Project, which took the form of a blog. Here’s the lowdown straight from the horse’s mouth: 

Women (and sometimes men…you know who you are…) can be obsessed with their bodies. Hair, nails, toes, skin, breasts, hips, eyes, they all get fixated on. But perhaps nothing is as preoccupying to us as our bellies. Our bellies are intimately related our sexuality and to our reproductive lives. It’s a complicated interaction, that confluence of sex and babies.

So, with that in mind, this blog is a place to come and put our bellies in perspective and to share them anonymously with the great wide Internetz.

We will include pictures of women’s bellies, their age, and the number of pregnancies, abortions, and miscarriages they have had.

Personally, I think it’s a pretty darn good idea. I’m definitely going to send in a picture of my belly. If you visit their blog, you might very well find some of the picture unattractive, you might feel envious of some of the bellies or you might find others absolutely adorable. I think, despite your initial reaction, that it’s a good exercise to look at every single picture and shed all your judgments and look at all these bellies with love, because they all deserve it and so does yours. 

P.S. While doing a google image search for a picture of a belly, I noticed an extremely large number of pictures of bellies with measuring tapes around them and/or fingers pinching flesh. I find that kind of disturbing. The picture I went with is already pretty famous in-of-itself, it first appeared in Glamour and as since made the rounds of a billion blogs in support of “curvier” looking women. I just think it’s pretty. 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Julia (naturegirl) permalink
    October 24, 2009 9:54 am

    I have just submitted my contribution, I only hope they post it as the photo was taken by my husband on a nude beach last August & shows one of my breasts too!

  2. October 24, 2009 7:24 pm

    That’s awesome, I hope they put it up. I don’t know if they’ll show a breast, but hey they can always crop it, right?

  3. Julia (naturegirl) permalink
    October 25, 2009 11:07 am

    Maybe you should start your own version of this & call it “the pussy project”. Or the “cunt stunt”. Give me time & I’ll try to come up with more titles…..
    (ps, I’ll post a picture of mine if others do!)

  4. October 25, 2009 5:47 pm

    I DID think of starting a pussy project. Maybe I’ll put something in the works.

  5. October 27, 2009 11:35 am

    Thanks for the post – and I would *love* to start a Breast Project and a Pubic Project! E-mail me (karen.rayne@gmail.com) if you’d like to do this and want our help getting started.

    cheers!
    Karen Rayne
    The Belly Project

  6. julia permalink
    October 27, 2009 5:13 pm

    Great! When’s it getting off the ground?

  7. October 27, 2009 8:23 pm

    Thanks, do you have any tips on getting started? Are there any legality issues?

  8. October 27, 2009 8:24 pm

    I’ve posted a few announcement, and hopefully I can have something up by Thursday.

  9. October 27, 2009 10:27 pm

    Go for it, chicas! If you need or want my help or support, e-mail me. karen.rayne@gmail.com. I probably won’t be coming back here again, but I’d love to support your efforts in whatever way I can.

    Oh, and yes, there are probably legal issues, and the need to investigate those is part of why I haven’t moved forward yet.

Leave a Reply

