Skip to content

Sporting a 70’s Bush

October 2, 2009

fotoretro34Women seem to give a lot of thought to the state of their pubic hair. Mostly, we try to determine what would be the most attractive to the person we are sexually attracted to. For quite a number of years the fad has leaned more and more towards getting rid of it all. Personally, I find a totally bare snatch slightly disturbing, it seems I little too pre-pubescent for my taste, and I’m not going to lie, I judge men who prefer a totally shaved pussy. I am however partial to bare lips with a little something to decorate up top (a little bit more than a landing strip, thank you). I also, sometimes, like to sport a well taken care of bush, but hey that’s just me. 

There is a ton of information out there on hair removal: shaving, waxing, sugaring, threading, electrolysis, lasering, and the list goes on, but you never hear about how to take care of the pubic hair you do have or at the very least the pubic hair you decide to keep. There are a ton of hair products out there, why not use some of it on your pubes? 

When you’re in the shower and you are conditioning your hair, why not dab a little of it on your pubic hair? I swear it works just as well and it will make it silky soft to the touch (I learned that little tidbit from a guy by the way). Once you are out of the shower, I assume that most people just towel dry themselves off and go straight for their clothes, but putting a pair of underwear on when your cunt is still damp is tantamount to putting a tuque on without blow-drying your hair first and let’s face it, that never turns out right.

If you don’t feel like hanging around naked until you are completely dry everywhere, you could always use a blow dryer to speed up the process a little. Try giving your pussy a little turn under some hot air when you are drying your hair. It feels nice and it looks good, but that’s not all you can do. To give your pubes the special treatment, you can use some hair balm or any type of similar silky lotion. I have a bottle of the Aveda brilliance pomade and I love the way it smells, I squeeze out a tiny little amount on the tip of my fingers and run them through my pubic hair. It smells great and it’s the perfect finishing touch to a properly taken care of bush. 

Do you have any nifty tricks and tips to share with the class?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2009 10:37 pm

    I must admit, I am not a fan of the enormous 70s bush, but neither am I a fan of the opposite bald extreme. I like to keep things neat and tidy, and expect the same of my partner; luckily we seem to be in accord on this aspect of grooming. It’s about keeping things groomed, paying attention to someone else’s needs (i.e. not getting a face full of fur when engaging in oral pleasures), and maintaining a reasonable amount of genital protection. I mean, don’t you just feel disturbingly naked when you remove all your hair? I’ve always found it a painful experience, with clothes rubbing directly against my unprotected skin, and then that horrible itchy sensation as the hair begins to grow back in. Scratching away at your nether regions is far more gauche than having a bit of hair down there.

    Pro tip: Use an electric shaver, of the type men use to trim their beards, with one of the attachments that will thin the hair but not allow your dainty bits to get caught in the blade if you want to keep it trimmed nicely and avoid the guesswork of scissors.

  2. October 2, 2009 10:39 pm

    i personally still like to shave it all off. but once in a while i do what i call the dorito look. a small triangle. it seems to attract more individuals

  3. October 2, 2009 11:11 pm

    Laura: Ya, I’m not a fan of the authentic 70’s bush either, but I couldn’t find a picture that featured a more well-kept bush and well, I kind of liked this one.

    I only feel disturbingly naked if I shave the top part, and if I shave that part it’s insanely uncomfortable and my skin get’s irritated right away. One of my friends told me to shave in the same direction of the hair growth and that that would prevent any irritation. what’s odd is that I seem to be able to shave my lips no problem and the growing factor on the lips isn’t itchy like all the rest.

    My favorite, and this is if I can afford a professional waxer (or sugaring), is to have everything from where my clit is and down removed and to keep a nice triangle up top. If I don’t have the money, I wax the top part myself until it looks just right and shave the lips or trim depending on how I feel. I don’t have an electric razor, but I do use what’s supposed to be a nose hair trimmer. Works really well and you don’t have to fear pinching your skin. I have a friend who was trimming his balls once and when he pulled on the hair to cut it, he had pulled too hard and the skin had lifted with the hair and he snipped a piece of his ball sack off. OUCH!

    Marcy: If you shave it all, you must not have a big problem with ingrown hairs or maybe you hold the magical cure and/or technique?

    Seriously though, what do you guys do to prevent ingrown hairs?

  4. October 3, 2009 8:54 am

    I had a roommate who swore that after shaving your pussy, you should dry off and roll on some deodorant. She said it prevented ingrown hairs and that a lot of sex workers she knew used that technique to keep it nice down there. ummm, I think I tried it, but I don’t get many ingrown hairs, so it wasn’t a really accurate experiment.

    I’m of Olga-taste. I like a bit more than a landing strip, ABOVE.

    xoxox

  5. October 3, 2009 1:10 pm

    I did hear about the deodorant trick, but I never tried it, because I felt like it brought up too many questions. What kind of deodorant should you use? Dry? Gel? Roll-on? Can you apply it everywhere you used to have hair? Is it safe to have on your outer lips? Seems like that’s too close to some of your inside parts to me and what if someone goes down on you, won’t getting a face full of deodorant be a little uncouth…I’m sure it doesn’t taste great either. Ever get too close to someone’s armpit while making out and gotten a mouth full of deodorant? It’s nasty. And is this a trick that you need to repeat everyday for it to work or only on the day that you shave?

    Gawd, so many questions! I feel like I should go interview a couple sex workers on proper hygiene/maintenance etiquette.

  6. Julia(naturegirl) permalink
    October 11, 2009 4:40 pm

    Completely shaved for me! I sometimes get a bit lazy & leave it too long betwen shaves & my bits look ghastly! BUT…..i prefer my man to be hairy! Trimmed short, yes, but not smooth.
    I sprinkle talcum powder on my bits then use hubby’s electric razor, followed by a smear of HC45 cream to tame the rash.

  7. October 11, 2009 5:20 pm

    Never heard of HC45 cream. Do you find that an electric razor will give you as close a shave as a razor?

  8. Julia permalink
    October 12, 2009 1:43 pm

    HC45 is a moisturiser with something like .5% hydrocortisone.
    The electric razor works fine & it’s a lot safer on my tender bits (labia,perineum etc.!!)

  9. October 12, 2009 3:44 pm

    Do you happen to know the name of the electric razor in question?

  10. Julia permalink
    October 12, 2009 4:06 pm

    It’s a Braun, but don’t ask me which model! It has a long hair trimmer that’s perfect for the stray hairs in my labia (That’s probably too much information!!!!)

  11. October 12, 2009 4:13 pm

    Lol, there’s no such thing as too much information.

  12. Julia permalink
    October 12, 2009 4:27 pm

    I did once try sugaring, my friend told me it was virtually painless. That was a lie! It is for the terminally masochistic, trust me! Plus my bits looked like a freshly plucked chicken for a week after.

  13. October 12, 2009 4:32 pm

    Really? I LOVE sugaring. It leaves me super smooth, no irritation whatsoever. I’ve only ever had it done by the same woman, so it might just be that she has magic hands. She really was amazing, but sadly, I moved and can no longer use her services. It just goes to show, that there is no universal answer. Somethings work well on one person and go horribly wrong on another.

    I once, got a wax done by a girl in training and she ripped me to shreds. Never again. I’d have more confidence in a medical intern than a waxing intern.

Leave a Reply

