Skip to content

Female Ejaculation Part 1: An Introduction

September 21, 2009

pc-1032The first post in my quest for female ejaculation and the g-spot orgasm won’t be as juicy as the rest, but it’s always good to start nice and slow and build up to the really good stuff, don’t you think?

Let’s look at a couple statistics on woman and orgasms:

  • Less than half of women reach orgasm through intercourse alone. 
  • Some estimates claim that 75% of women need clitoral stimulation to orgasm. 
  • And 10% to 15% of women have never reached an orgasm. 
  • As of yet, there are no scientific studies that can give an estimate of how many women ejaculate when having an orgasm. 

Those are some pretty dismal statistics if you ask me and if you ask my mother she’ll tell you the same thing, although she’s likely to use words like “down there” and “that way”, but it all comes down to the same thing: a lot of women haven’t reached their full orgasmic potential. 

Now, for a little history lesson: 

  • Squirting is not a new phenomena. 
  • It was well known and honored in Ancient India thousands of years ago. 
  • Everyone had heard of it in China, Japan, Arabia, Greece, Africa, the Pacific Islands and in North America (pre-European take over).
  • Ancient Chinese texts make reference to a woman’s “water flowing”.
  • Shunga art in 16th century Japan portrays it quite graphically. 
  • Aristotle mentioned it a couple times back in the 4th century B.C. 
  • Galen wrote about it in the 2nd Century A.D.
  • Shakespeare brings up the subject of his love’s water. 
  • Dutch physiologist, Regnier DeGraaf was the first to mention it in modern text, back in 1672. 

All right, so all these people agreed that female ejaculation is “real” and despite the denial of modern medical practitioners many women continue to gush themselves silly. 

Which brings us to the infamous G-Spot:

  • It can be found on the upper wall of the vagina (more details later). 
  • The term was coined by Ladas, Whipple, and Perry in 1982 (see their book ” target=”_blank”>The G-Spot: And Other Discoveries about Human Sexuality and it was named after Ernst Grafenberg M.D. who first wrote about it in 1950. 
  • It’s not really a spot, it can be found in different places depending on the woman and it moves (just like your cervix) depending on your level of arousal.
  • When stimulated it can lead to mind blowing juicy orgasms.
  • Regnier DeGraaf defined the glands and ducts that make up the G-Spot over 400 years ago. He claimed that the G-Spot was analogous to the male prostate. 
  • In 1880, Alexandre Skeene M.D. studied and illustrated these glands, which are now called Skeene glands. 
  • In 1953, urologist Samuel Berkow concluded that this mass of tissue could become filled with blood and become erect when stimulated. 
  • In 1980, research concluded that the Skeene glands are small, functional organs that are very similar to the male prostate and that they can secrete fluids. This mass is what you feel through the upper wall of your vagina when you touch your G-Spot. 

That’s all good, right? But what the hell happened?

  • Freud made the distinction between clitoral and vaginal orgasms, stating that clitoral orgasms where immature and that it took “a real woman” to have a vaginal orgasm. 
  • Researchers like Kinsey, Masters and Johnson then popularized the idea that women were only capable of having clitoral orgasms and that vaginal or G-Spot orgasms were a myth, which led to the g-spot being widely ignored. 

Don’t panic, the tide has shifted and the entire vulva has now come into play. How do you maximize all this information and turn it into something more practical that can get you off? Well, stay tuned for the next increment of Female Ejaculation where I will walk you through the tools you will need to practice harnessing all that orgasmic energy. 

Next post in the Female Ejaculation series here

Previous post in the Female Ejaculation series here

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Julia (naturegirl) permalink
    September 22, 2009 2:58 pm

    Actually, I did some research into this 8 or 9 years ago & I remember reading somewhere that 7% of women can actually have squirting ejaculations, if that helps!

  2. September 22, 2009 4:22 pm

    Thanks for the tip, any info helps. What I’ve found is that when it comes to female sexuality the statistics tend to vary a lot, and ultimately they tell me one thing: that there’s a lot of work left to be done in terms of research, education, and simply talking about it.

  3. September 22, 2009 9:07 pm

    my ex girlfriend discovered with me that she could ejaculate a whole lot. It was terrific ! But her pleasure was not always equal. Sometimes, i would have to continue loving her.
    Thanks for your text!

  4. September 22, 2009 9:12 pm

    Merci!

  5. September 23, 2009 1:38 pm

    One of my favorite topics! Looking for ward to reading more. Deborah Sundahl’s book “Female Ejaculation & the G-spot” is great too 🙂

  6. Julia (Naturegirl) permalink
    September 25, 2009 4:21 pm

    If it’s of any interest, I am happy to pass on my experience of ejaculation.
    For one thing, I don’t ejaculate when I orgasm, rather i ejaculate (sometimes quite copiously!) when i have a climax. The diference being that I can have several climaxes but only one orgasm, my clitporis becomes way too sensitive after an orgasm & my genitals therefore become a “no-go” area.
    Let me know if you want me to post any more information, I am more than willing to be frank & open.
    Jools

  7. September 25, 2009 11:28 pm

    @Julia: Sharing your personal experiences is what this blog is about. Can you explain to me the difference between a climax and an orgasm? I mean personally, how do you differentiate between a climax and an orgasm? I did a quick google search and most of what I’ve read seems to indicate that a climax and an orgasm are the same thing and that they are merely synonyms to one another. I would like your opinion on the matter or at least a more in depth explanation of the differences between the two.

  8. Julia(naturegirl) permalink
    October 8, 2009 3:32 pm

    Sorry to take so long replying, been busy taking eldest back to university!
    How can I explain? For me an orgasm starts in that part of my anatomy between my anus & clitoris (my vagina I hear you say! but it’s more inside, deeper) & spreads out from there until it reaches all my extremities. Also after I orgasm, my whole genital region becomes a “no go area” as it is way too sensitive for sometime after.
    I can have many of what I call climaxes, They are more defined, usually come as a result of clitoral and/or Gspot stimulation (my husband has a good tecnique, he uses the ball of his thumb on my clit while inserting his index & middle fingers into my vagina to stimulate my Gspot! Works every time!) & are localised around my groin. As I said, they usually provoke an ejaculation, a spurt of clear fluid followed by a dribble of more fluid with each contraction.
    I can have any number of these “climaxes”, usually getting closer together until they merge into a long climax with a series of ejaculations, but they are different from my main orgasm.
    As I said before, I hardly ever ejaculate when I orgasm, though I can dribble just before the orgasm starts.
    Let me know if you want any more information
    Regards.
    Julia

  9. October 8, 2009 3:55 pm

    Julia: Hey, if taking your time to answer means a more thorough answer, take all the time you need. That’s a very good detailed example of how you experience pleasure. Personally, I’ve never experienced the kind of orgasm that you describe, the one that goes to all your extremities, I mean. I have experienced what you call a climax, but I always refer to that as a clitoral orgasm. In most of what I’ve read, so far, the difference in the type of orgasms women feel can, in part, be attributed to where they originates from.

    “The tip of the clitoris is fed by the pudendal nerve, as are the vagina’s lips and opening, the perineum (the tissue between the vagina and the anus), and the anus itself. (By the way, “pudenda” is a fancy out-of-date term for external human genitals.)

    The shaft and the legs of the clitoris (as well as the inner vagina and the G-spot) are fed by the pelvic nerve deeper inside. This possibly explains why orgasms feel different when triggered by the inner and outer erogenous zones.”*

    I would interpret what you’ve just described as two different types of orgasms that originate from the two aforementioned nerve clusters, or a combination of both to varying degrees.

    * source: Female Ejaculation: Unleashing the Ultimate G-Spot Orgasm

Trackbacks

  1. Twitted by skd219

Leave a Reply

