Skip to content

Have You Seen Your Cervix Lately?

September 17, 2009

The cervix is the part of the female anatomy that links the vagina to the uterus. It’s the deep spot of your vagina. You know that pain you sometimes feel in your lower abdomen during sex with someone with a rather long cock or in sexual positions that allow for deeper penetration? Well, that’s your cervix being hit in a not so good kind of way. I have read that the cervix can be an erogenous zone, but the information I have on that is pretty slim at the moment. 

The lower part of the cervix descends into the vagina while the upper part is hidden from view in the lower part of the uterus and it looks a little something like this:

My friend Jess remarked on how it kind of looks like the head of a penis, but that’ll be a topic for another day. Right now, let’s get back to your cervix. Have you ever looked at your own, because apparently you can? Sure, you’ve all heard about the whole “look at your vagina” shtick, but if you really want to have your mind blown, I suggest you buy yourself a nice little plastic speculum and get comfy in front of a mirror. Make sure to have a flashlight handy. For step-by-step instructions check out this link here

Not only is the cervix an interesting part of your body that usually goes relatively unnoticed except by your gyno, but getting to know your cervix is actually pretty helpful. If you familiarize yourself with the way it looks, how that changes (it descends and gets harder when you’re menstruating), and the mucus that is found around it you can learn a hell of a whole lot about the cycles of your body. For instance, if you want to find out whether or not you’re ovulating all you need to do is stick a finger in your vagina and go looking for your cervix. If it’s higher up and softer than usual, that’s usually a good sign if you are trying to get pregnant. 

I’d be really interested in knowing if anybody has tried this before. If you have or find the idea interesting, leave a comment. 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2009 1:57 am

    I was just thinking, for the less industrious among us, bring a handheld mirror to your next gyno appointment and get a peek at the inside of your vagina that way. I’m sure you’re doctor won’t mind and you’ll already be set up with good lighting and everything.

  2. October 21, 2009 3:09 pm

    I had bad spots on my cervix and had to get what is called a Loop don’t which is very painful, but basically burning the bad cells away with a little looped instrument. When my gyno did this she had it on video, taping waht was going on, so I asked if I could watch. Fascinating seeing my cervix so close-up and moving. I asked for the video but they wouldn’t give it to me. I think they thought I was joking. I should have insisted more as it would have been cool to have as an art project. Cool topic! Thanks!

  3. October 21, 2009 4:36 pm

    I don’t know if you read the post “On The Table”, but it was written by my friend and co-blogger Elizabeth Catherine and in the post she talks about getting her colposcopy. She’s still waiting for her results, and she wrote really well about it. Definitely worth reading. I wish all medical personnel were more in tune with their patients and were ready to teach us and show us more about our bodies. Integrating us into the process, like making it possible for us to watch things like that on video.

    I once got a barium enema, because I was having intestinal problems and I wanted my x-rays for an art project, but the hospital wouldn’t release them to me. I eventually lie and I told them I was showing them to another doctor and would bring them back. I still haven’t done anything with the x-rays. Actually, come to think of it, I don’t really know where they are at the moment, but as soon as I got them, I wished I had copies of every single set of x-rays I’ve ever taken in my life.

  4. jam permalink
    November 25, 2010 6:52 pm

    tank you

  5. November 25, 2010 11:09 pm

    @ Jam: You’re welcome.

  6. Kathleen permalink
    March 20, 2011 9:57 am

    Ugh. It’s so frustrating when doctors withhold x-rays and videos from patients.
    Dude, those are pictures of MY body, they should belong to ME.

Trackbacks

  1. The Beautiful Cervix Project « Cuntlove

Leave a Reply

