Skip to content

The Idea Behind Cuntlove

September 14, 2009
tags:

A couple months ago, I read the Vagina Monologues by Eve Ensler for the first time and as those of you who have read it already know, it’s a great book. I suppose that what I had read was still lingering in my mind when a few weeks later my coworker and I started to talk about our cunts. She was on her way to the pharmacy on her break to buy toilet paper for the office and some baby wipes. Since she doesn’t have a kid, I asked her: “Why the baby wipes?” It turns out that she uses them when she doesn’t feel so fresh down there. I had never heard of anyone doing that. Oh, I mean sure, I know they sell feminine hygiene wipes at the pharmacy, but I always assumed they were something that women never actually use, like vaginal douches.

This little information session turned into a full-blown conversation about our cunts. The theme being: what do you do with your vagina? My co-worker suggested that that would be a great name for a book. Eventually, we moved on to different topics of conversation, but as the days went by I kept thinking about it and came to the conclusion that IT would be a great topic for a book.

I decided to do a little snooping around to see if I could find any books like this out on the market and I came across Cunt: A Declaration of Independence by Inga Muscio. It is a FABULOUS book! I really can’t recommend it enough. It is this book that confirmed my desire to write about this subject.

My original idea expanded and shifted, like most ideas do, and I decided to create a website dedicated to cunts. I had previously written about my latest pap test on my personal blog and one woman in particular commented: “Oh, the trip-to-the-gyno stories I could tell, if only I were brave enough!” In an ideal world, I think that everyone should feel comfortable openly talking about subjects like getting a pap test. I don’t think that any subject of conversation should be hush-hush. You should be as comfortable talking about your period or sex or anything else in the super market checkout line as you are at home with your best friends.

I might personally feel that way, but I’m also aware that that isn’t the case for everyone. Too often, woman feel that you just don’t talk about that kind of stuff. I for one don’t think it’s an inappropriate subject matter and with this blog I am hoping to create a safe and comfortable place for people (straight, bi, gay, transgender, and of varying backgrounds and cultures) to share their stories and perhaps learn a thing or two about themselves along the way. 

Leave a Reply

