Skip to content

Tips For Single Women, 1938 Edition

April 10, 2012

The guy in the picture doesn’t seem to mind the view.

When I was in high school I was horrified by the idea of someone (okay guys) seeing me put makeup on. I got over that in my late teens early twenties. Hell, I would  go to the laundromat across the street wearing a clay mask on my face. There’s no shame in letting other’s see what you do to make yourself “pretty.” The illusion is fun, but it’s not worth feeling shame over.

Good posture does go a long way, but so does being comfortable.

I don’t know about you, but she looks like she’s having more fun than he is, which I count as a point in her favor.

Oups, I’m always re-arranging my bra in public. People don’t seem to mind though, except maybe my mother, but everyone else seems to like the view.

Road safety first, ladies.

PDA isn’t for everyone, but I don’t think I’d answer this dudes call for a second date if he shot me that look for touching him in public.

Oh tears, why must you always be the downfall of women?

This one ain’t bad, I’d be irritated as hell if I as on a date with a guy who was talking about the “good time” he had with someone else. That’s just disrespectful, but “men deserve your entire attention.” Pshaw.

God forbid you talk about something other than him.

Sloppy drunks are never attractive, but seriously, “some girls seem clever, but most get silly”? I don’t even drink, but this makes me want to have one or two.

On a date, no one exists but the the man you’re with. Come on now, that’s just common sense.

Dating a guy like that would make me want to take a nap too!

Via retronaut.co

6 Comments leave one →
  1. TemptingSweets99 permalink
    April 10, 2012 7:47 pm

    Oh my! ;-) Let me guess, there are no rules for him. :)

  2. April 10, 2012 7:52 pm

    The Rules are for ladies, The Game is for men.

  3. April 10, 2012 9:00 pm

    This makes me very appreciative to live in a time of more “modern” dating “rules” ;)

    Where did you find these?!

  4. April 10, 2012 9:04 pm

    There’s a link to the source at the bottom left hand corner of the post. Beyond that, I don’t know where that person got them.

  5. April 11, 2012 2:57 am

    Geez….if you weren’t self-conscious and uptight before, these tips could certainly make you so. I think the funniest part was “a man expects you to keep your dignity all evening”.

  6. April 18, 2012 6:47 am

    Ah yes, dignity, never leave the house without it. My fav part is the headwaiter having a hissy fit at the end.

Leave a Reply

