Skip to content

SexRays by Wim Delvoye

March 11, 2012

I’ve been interested in the use of x-rays in art for a long time. I’ve broken so many things in my short life, I would love to have every x-ray I’ve ever taken to use in an art project, but unfortunately, I doubt I can track down the first x-ray I took when I was about 6 years-old, let alone all the subsequent ones.

Wim Delvoye had an idea, and unlike me, actually followed through with it. The artist asked a few friends to cover themselves in barium (a chalky substance that shows up on x-ray) and engage in sexual activities while being photographed in a medical clinic.

These are the resulting images. I’m pretty much in love with them. I wish there were more of them and more variety in the sexual acts depicted. Perhaps some things show up more clearly on x-ray than others. Either way, I’m a fan. Check out more of Wim Delvoye’s work here.

Enjoy these SexRays and have a happy Sunday!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2012 1:48 am

    Pretty disturbing. I watched this movie Enter The Void and they show a CGI penis going into a CGI vagina, kept thinking about it, got haunted by it’s imagery actually. Kept thinking about an ex of mine and that being her vagina, and a penis going into it, and anyway.

  2. June 20, 2012 6:34 pm

    Hmmm, thinking about exes and various sexual organs goings in or out of their various sexual organs is never a good place to go. I feel you though.

  3. thedarkone permalink
    October 3, 2013 10:04 am

    it wasn’t cgi

Leave a Reply

